TRANVOUEZ SIMON

30 years old

France

BREST

In a relationship

Shipboard Electronic Technician

Go to skipper medias
807_tranvouez_0010.jpg

“Et voilà, here I am!”

Sometimes, a Mini-Transat participation can easily go one way or the other, as Simon Tranvouez explains: “Basically, I was more geared towards setting sail on a 6 to 12-month voyage. But over the course of an evening, a point where lots of great ideas are hatched, a mate said to me: ‘I can really see you doing the Mini-Transat!’. Et voilà, here I am!”

With his tight budget, Simon was able to purchase a 2010 Nacira, number 807. “This boat is a bit like me, she’s never done a transatlantic!” he explains. A good sailor, albeit with little racing experience, the young thirty-year-old is enjoying optimising his machine. “I love doing odd jobs, tinkering, repairing and developing any sort of electronics and mechanical things”, he says.

From 2017 to 2010, Simon Tranvouez participated in all the races on the Atlantic Mini circuit, whetting his appetite even more for the ocean and sailing. “The joy of being at sea is all-encompassing. With hindsight, even the toughest moments become anecdotes you enjoy recalling and talking about.”

Nautical track record:

- Beginnings in dinghy sailing at 11 years old
- Cruises, delivery trips and various passages, sometimes singlehanded
- Participations in races on the Mini circuit in 2017, 2018 (including Les Sables-Les Açores-Les Sables) and 2019

TRANVOUEZ SIMON

30 ans

France

Brest (29)

En couple

Technicien électronicien embarqué

Voir les médias du skipper
807_tranvouez_0010.jpg

« Et voilà, j’y suis ! »

Parfois, une participation à la Mini-Transat tient à peu de choses, comme le raconte Simon Tranvouez : « A la base, je pensais plutôt partir en voyage à la voile pendant 6 à 12 mois. Mais au cours d’une soirée, lieu où beaucoup de grandes idées naissent, un pote m’a dit : ‘Moi, je te verrais bien faire la Mini-Transat !’. Et voilà, j’y suis ! »

Avec son budget serré, Simon a pu acquérir un Nacira de 2010, le 807. « Ce bateau est un peu comme moi, il n’a jamais fait la transat ! », souligne-t-il. Bon marin, mais peu expérimenté en régate, le jeune trentenaire prend plaisir à optimiser sa machine. « J’aime beaucoup bricoler, bidouiller, réparer, développer, toute sorte de choses électroniques et mécaniques », dit-il.

De 2017 à 2010, Simon Tranvouez a participé à toutes les courses du circuit Mini en Atlantique, ce qui n’a fait qu’accroître sa passion pour l’océan et la navigation. « Le plaisir d’être en mer, c’est un tout. Avec le recul, même les moments les plus durs deviennent des anecdotes que tu prends plaisir à te remémorer et à raconter. »

Palmarès nautique :

- Débuts en voile légère à 11 ans
- Croisières et convoyages et divers, parfois en solo
- Participations aux courses du circuit Mini en 2017, 2018 (dont Les Sables-Les Açores-Les Sables) et 2019