RAYMAKERS THIBAULT

43 years old

Belgium

NODUWEZ

In a relationship, 1 child

Owner of shops in the domain of distribution

http://www.be-sailing.com Go to skipper medias
891_raymakers_0022.jpg

“Extend the influence of the Belgian identity across Brittany!”

“Do you remember the last time you did something for the first time in your life?” Such is the motto of Thibault Raymakers, who will be discovering the Mini-Transat this year. “For me, it’s still hard to define exactly why I’ve set myself this challenge. The answer will likely be more obvious at the finish. However, what I can say is that I love the idea of being ‘dependent’ on a start date” , he admits.

For Thibault Raymakers, a native of Belgium sponsored by a publicity campaign promoting his country, Belgium Uniquely Phenomenal, it all began with his father during sailing trips on a little dayboat in Holland, which gave him a love for the ocean. “My family and professional life then took me away from the sea” explains Thibault, who will take the start of the Mini-Transat aboard an Ofcet built in 2015, which has already completed the course (in 2017 with Jérôme Lhermitte).

“There’s something rather fun about being able to cross an ocean, without fossil fuels, using the power of the wind. In a small way it’s about getting some sort of revenge on the unrestrained exploitation of our planet. Every time I go out sailing, I make it a point of honour to return to port with waste that I’ve recovered from the sea. One less piece of rubbish!” explains Thibault. His objectives: “To cross the Atlantic, to experience some strong emotion and to pass on his values of solidarity, whilst pushing the boundaries and extending the influence of the Belgian identity across Brittany!”

Nautical track record:

- 13th in the Solo Cornet Fries Race in 2015
- Delivery trip from Nieuwpoort – Lagos in 2016
- Mini circuit 2018 (Pornichet Lorient Mini 6.50, Pornichet Select, Mini en Mai, Trophée MAP, Mini Fastnet)
- Mini circuit 2019 (Mini en Mai, Tour de Belle-Ile, Mini Fastnet, Transgascogne)

RAYMAKERS THIBAULT

43 ans

Belgique

NODUWEZ

EN COUPLE, 1 ENFANT

Propriétaire de magasins dans la distribution

http://www.be-sailing.com Voir les médias du skipper
891_raymakers_0022.jpg

« Faire rayonner la Belgitude en Bretagne ! »

« Te souviens-tu de la dernière fois que tu as fais quelque chose pour la première fois dans ta vie ? » Telle est la devise de Thibault Raymakers qui va découvrir cette année la Mini-Transat. « Pour moi, il est encore difficile de définir exactement pourquoi je me lance ce défi. Probablement que la réponse sera plus évidente à l’arrivée. Néanmoins ce que je peux dire, c’est que j’aime l’idée d’être "dépendant" d’une date de départ », confie-t-il.

Pour Thibault Raymakers, originaire de Belgique et sponsorisé par une campagne de publicité de promotion de son pays Belgium Uniquely Phenomenal, tout a commencé avec son père lors de navigations sur un petit cabinier en Hollande qui lui donnent l’amour de la mer. « S'en est suivi un parcours plus ou moins éloigné du contact avec la mer, au gré de la vie familiale et professionnelle », raconte Thibault qui prendra le départ de la Mini-Transat à bord d’un Ofcet de 2015 qui a déjà bouclé le parcours (en 2017 avec Jérôme Lhermitte).

« Pouvoir traverser un océan, sans énergie fossile, grâce à la force du vent, a quelque chose de jouissif, une sorte de minuscule revanche sur l'exploitation débridée de notre planète. Lors de chaque navigation, je mets un point d'honneur à revenir au port avec un déchet récupéré en mer. Un de moins ! », explique Thibault. Ses objectifs : « Traverser l'atlantique, vivre des émotions fortes, véhiculer des valeurs de solidarité, de dépassement de soi, d'écologie et faire rayonner la Belgitude en Bretagne ! »

Palmarès nautique :

- 13e de la Solo Cornet Fries Race en 2015
- Convoyage Nieuport – Lagos en 2016
- Circuit Mini 2018 (Pornichet Lorient Mini 6.50, Pornichet Select, Mini en Mai, Trophée MAP, Mini Fastnet)
- Circuit Mini 2019 (Mini en Mai, Tour de Belle-Ile, Mini Fastnet, Transgascogne)