PILLAIN AXELLE

28 years old

France

Brest (29)

Single

Medical Student

http://www.pillain.com/axellefaitdumini/ Go to skipper medias
781_pillain_0012-2.jpg

“It’s becoming a bit addictive”

“I don’t exactly know why I’ve decided to take on this adventure. I’ve often wanted to head offshore and I think the time was right to do just that. If I hadn’t gone for it now, when would I do it? I’ve heard a lot about the Mini-Transat and I’ve had a few encounters which convinced me that maybe I too could give it a go. Though the Mini-Transat is a major challenge for me, above all it’s the desire to learn and curiosity that’s prompting me to make this journey.”

Passionate about sailing, but also very caught up in competitive gymnastics, Axelle Pillain got into racing late in the day. “I adored the tactical and technical aspect, together with the simple pleasure of slipping along, which I was already familiar with”, she explains. “With every race, I learn a massive amount and it’s becoming a bit addictive. The Mini is doing nothing to quash my enthusiasm, quite the reverse!”

Axelle, who has a PhD in Medicine, is a young woman, who is a brilliant and very determined adventurer. The challenge of the Mini-Transat La Boulangère fits her to a T. “At sea, I experience every moment to the full. Everything takes on another dimension. I live in the moment, without distraction, and that’s what I love”, she says.

Nautical track record:

- Sailing from a very early age on the family boat
- Races in Open 5.70
- Participation in races on the Mini circuit in 2018 and 2019

PILLAIN AXELLE

28 ans

France

Brest (29)

Célibataire

Étudiante en médecine

http://www.pillain.com/axellefaitdumini/ Voir les médias du skipper
781_pillain_0012-2.jpg

« Ça devient un peu addictif »

« Je ne sais pas exactement pourquoi j’ai décidé de me lancer dans l’aventure. J’ai souvent eu envie de prendre le large et je pense que c’était le moment idéal pour le faire. En effet, si je ne me lançais pas maintenant, alors quand ? J’avais beaucoup entendu parler de la Mini-Transat et j’ai fait quelques rencontres qui m’ont persuadée que peut-être moi aussi je pouvais essayer. Si la Mini-Transat représente un grand défi pour moi, c’est surtout l’envie d’apprendre et la curiosité qui me poussent. »

Passionnée de navigation mais très prise par la gym en compétition, Axelle Pillain a découvert la régate sur le tard. « J’ai adoré l’aspect tactique et technique, en plus du plaisir simple de glisser que je connaissais déjà », explique-t-elle. « A chaque régate j’apprends énormément et ça devient un peu addictif. Le Mini ne fait rien pour diminuer mon enthousiasme, bien au contraire ! »

Axelle, qui a décroché son doctorat de médecine, est une jeune femme brillante, aventurière et très déterminée. Elle trouve dans la Mini-Transat La Boulangère un challenge qui lui correspond à merveille. « En mer, je vis chaque moment pleinement. Tout prend une autre dimension, je vis l’instant présent sans distraction et c’est cela que j’adore », dit-elle.

Palmarès nautique :

- Navigations depuis toute petite sur le voilier familial
- Régates en Open 5.70
- Participation aux courses du circuit Mini en 2018 et 2019