OGER BASTIAN

42 years old

France

La Rochelle (17)

In a relationship

Sailing instructor/Skipper

Go to skipper medias
740_oger_0018.jpg

“The adventure, slipping along, the tough life…”

For the past ten years, Bastian Oger has been regularly getting out on the water. Among his most memorable experiences is a fine transatlantic passage between Mauritania and the Grenadines aboard ‘Fleur Australe’, a yacht measuring nearly 20 metres designed by Philippe Poupon.

Since then, Bastian Oger has studied at the Institut Nautique de Concarneau to become a sailing instructor and skipper, embracing various navigation zones along the way (Brittany, Mediterranean, Greece, West Indies and the Bay of Biscay…). Since 2015, he’s been living in La Rochelle so he’ll be one of the locals of the leg.

But how did Bastian get it into his head to take on this Mini-Transat adventure? “I attended the start in 2017 and that was the trigger for me, so it seemed like the obvious step forward. I love a challenge, the open ocean, the adventure, slipping along and the tough life, when it comes with its share of rewards and thrills! I too want to go fast, I too want to slip along like a man possessed and feel my body put to the test through adrenalin and contemplation. Anxieties are earthbound, once you’re on the water, they fade away.”

Bastian Oger has set his heart on a 2008 Pogo, which hadn’t taken the start of any races on the Mini circuit since 2011. “She’d been abandoned so I think she’s covered more miles in one season than she has in the past ten years!”

Nautical track record:

- Transatlantic passage aboard ‘Fleur Australe’ (Mauritania, Cape Verde, Grenadines)
- Sailing instructor and skipper
- Participation in the races on the Mini circuit in 2018 and 2019

OGER BASTIAN

42 ans

France

La Rochelle (17)

En couple

Moniteur de voile/Skipper

Voir les médias du skipper
740_oger_0018.jpg

« L'aventure, la glisse, la vie rude… »

Depuis dix ans, Bastian Oger navigue de manière assidue. Parmi ses expériences marquantes, une jolie transatlantique entre la Mauritanie et les Grenadines à bord de "Fleur Australe", un voilier de près de 20 mètres conçu par Philippe Poupon.

Depuis, Bastian Oger s’est formé à l’Institut Nautique de Concarneau pour devenir moniteur de voile et skipper, arpentant diverses zones de navigation (Bretagne, Méditerranée, Grèce, Antilles, Golfe de Gascogne…). Depuis 2015, il est installé à La Rochelle et sera donc l’un des locaux de l’étape.

Mais comment Bastian s’est-il mis en tête de vivre l’aventure de la Mini-Transat ? « J’ai assisté au départ en 2017, cela a été un déclic, une évidence. J'aime le challenge, le large, l'aventure, la glisse et la vie rude, quand il y a des récompenses et de bonnes sensations à la clé ! Moi aussi je veux aller vite, moi aussi je veux glisser comme un dingue et sentir mon corps éprouvé par l'adrénaline et la contemplation. Les angoisses sont à terre, une fois sur l'eau, elles se dissipent. »

Bastian Oger a jeté son dévolu sur un Pogo de 2008 qui n’avait pas pris part à des courses du circuit Mini depuis 2011. « Je l’ai récupéré à l'état d'abandon. Il a parcouru plus de milles en une saison qu'en dix ans je pense ! »

Palmarès nautique :

- Transatlantique à bord de "Fleur Australe" (Mauritanie, Cap-Vert, Grenadines)
- Moniteur de voile et skipper
- Participations aux courses du circuit Mini en 2018 et 2019