LUTARD RAPHAEL

23 years old

France

LA TESTE DE BUCH (33)

Pacsed

SKIPPER

http://www.laloumulti.com Go to skipper medias
900_lutard_0004.jpg

Taming a racing steed

Raphaël Lutard is signed up for the event with the most innovative prototype in the Class Mini. Launched in 2016, Arkema 3 really created a stir with her semi-rigid wing, her foils, her scow bow, her self-supporting bowsprit and a host of other new features that are less visible but nonetheless important, such as the use of recyclable resin. Aboard this extremely cutting-edge yet very complex and demanding Mini 6.50, Quentin Vlamynck secured 6th place in the Mini-Transat 2017. Now it’s over to Raphaël Lutard to take the helm.

Born in the Arcachon basin in SW France, Raphaël is preparing to take on a mighty challenge by participating in his first Mini-Transat aboard a machine like this, which has already posted 26 knots of boat speed! However, he boasts some solid experience on a Laser and then an Open 5.70 and has very close ties to the Mini 6.50 Arkema since he monitored her build and supported Quentin Vlamynck in his preparation for the 2017 edition.

For his first transatlantic aboard his ‘flying’ Mini 6.50, Raphaël Lutard is not putting too much pressure on himself. “It’s a watershed moment for me and a leap into the unknown. I don’t feel stressed about it, more a sense of positive excitement. It’ll be a great journey of discovery. Since I took up sailing, I’ve dreamed of becoming a professional skipper first of all, and then an offshore racer. The transatlantic passage is a dream for me and for this participation I’m expecting to be able to satisfy my objective: to make it all the way to Martinique. Naturally I’m keen not to regret a single thing at the finish.”

Nautical track record:

- Optimist then Laser
- French No.2 in Open 5.70 in 2011
- Trophies and delivery trips aboard the Multi 50 Arkema
- Participations in races on the Mini circuit in 2018 and 2019

LUTARD RAPHAËL

23 ans

France

LA TESTE DE BUCH (33)

Pacsé

SKIPPER

http://www.laloumulti.com Voir les médias du skipper
900_lutard_0004.jpg

Une bête de course à apprivoiser

Raphaël Lutard s’engage avec le proto le plus innovant de la classe Mini. Mis à l’eau en 2016, Arkema 3 a fait sensation avec son aile semi-rigide, ses foils, sa carène à étrave ronde, son bout-dehors autoporté et bien d’autres nouveautés moins visibles mais bien présentes, comme l’utilisation d’une résine recyclable. A bord de ce Mini 6.50 extrêmement novateur mais aussi très complexe et exigeant, Quentin Vlamynck a décroché la 6e place de la Mini-Transat 2017. C’est donc désormais Raphaël Lutard qui est à la barre.

Originaire du Bassin d’Arcachon, Raphaël s’apprête à relever un sacré défi en participant à sa première Mini-Transat à bord d’une telle machine, qui a déjà été flashée à 26 nœuds ! Mais il a pour lui une solide expérience en Laser puis en Open 5.70 et une excellente connaissance du Mini 6.50 Arkema puisqu’il a suivi sa construction et secondé Quentin Vlamynck dans sa préparation à l’édition 2017.

Pour sa première transatlantique, à bord de son Mini 6.50 "volant", Raphaël Lutard ne se met pas trop de pression. « C’est un gros tournant pour moi et un saut dans l’inconnu. Je ne ressens pas de stress mais plutôt une excitation positive. Ce sera une belle découverte. Depuis que je pratique la voile, j’ai d’abord rêvé de devenir un skipper professionnel, puis de faire de la course au large. La transatlantique était un rêve pour moi, et pour cette participation j’attends de pouvoir atteindre l’objectif : la traversée jusqu’en Martinique. Et bien sûr ne rien regretter à l’arrivée. »

Palmarès nautique :

- Optimist puis Laser
- Vice Champion de France en Open 5.70 en 2011
- Trophées et convoyages à bord du Multi 50 Arkema
- Participations aux courses du circuit Mini en 2018 et 2019