LETISSIER JULIEN

28 years old

France

Concarneau

In a relationship

Preparation and maintenance of race boats and cruisers

http://julienletissier.fr Go to skipper medias
20180718_sas_0766.jpg

“Why not me?”

“I’ve always dreamed of doing singlehanded offshore racing. I’m very familiar with the starts of the major French races having gone along on numerous occasions to pay tribute to these sailors who leave the dock to confront the open ocean. I go there to dream and to see these boats, which fascinate me and these sailors who head off to brave the unpredictable. And so why not me after all? It was a natural decision to go for the Mini-Transat for reasons of financial accessibility and a taste for adventure.”

If Julien Letissier feels ready to take on the challenge of the Mini-Transat La Boulangère, it’s because he’s been sailing from a very early age. “I did numerous family cruises and then very quickly got into racing, on a Laser and then crewed”, he explains. “I’ve been lucky enough to be able to share in some double-handed IRC seasons over recent years, which have really given me a taste for shorthanded offshore races.”

To get himself into the Mini, Julien has gone for a boat with a fine track record, a Pogo 3 devised and designed by Guillaume Verdier, which is well known in the Class by the name Mahi-Mahi. Charly Fernbach notably finished 4th aboard her in the Mini-Transat 2015 and then went on to win the Mini-Fastnet 2016. “This boat is both powerful and reassuring. She will be the perfect steed to take me across to the other side of the Atlantic”, Julien Letissier assures us.

Nautical track record:

- Participations in races on the Mini circuit in 2018 and 2019
- Winner of the CeltiKup 2017 (double-handed race)
- 2 podiums in the Spi Ouest France in 2012 and 2013
- 3 podiums in the Course Croisière Edhec between 2012 and 2015
- Races on a Laser, Open 570, J80, Grand Surprise and in IRC
- Numerous singlehanded delivery trips around Brittany and between England and France.

LETISSIER JULIEN

28 ans

France

Concarneau (29)

En couple

Préparation et maintenance de voiliers de course et de croisière

http://julienletissier.fr Voir les médias du skipper
20180718_sas_0766.jpg

« Pourquoi pas moi ? »

« J’ai toujours rêvé de faire de la course au large en solitaire. Je connais bien le départ des grandes courses françaises pour être allé de nombreuses fois saluer ces marins qui quittent le ponton à l’assaut du large. J’y allais pour rêver, voir ces bateaux qui me fascinent et ces marins qui partent braver l’imprévisible. Et puis après tout, pourquoi pas moi ? Le choix de la Mini-Transat s’est fait naturellement pour des raisons d’accessibilité financières et par goût de l’aventure. »

Si Julien Letissier se sent prêt à relever le défi de la Mini-Transat La Boulangère, c’est parce qu’il navigue depuis tout petit. « J’ai fait de nombreuses croisières en famille puis rapidement je suis venu à la régate, en Laser puis en équipage », raconte-t-il. « J’ai eu la chance de pouvoir partager des saisons en IRC double ces dernières années qui m’ont réellement donné le goût des courses offshore en équipage réduit. »

Pour se mettre au Mini, le choix de Julien s’est porté sur un bateau affichant un joli palmarès, un Pogo 3 dessiné et conçu par Guillaume Verdier, bien connu dans la Classe sous le nom de Mahi-Mahi. A son bord, Charly Fernbach a notamment terminé 4e de la Mini-Transat 2015 puis remporté le Mini-Fastnet 2016. « Ce bateau est à la fois puissant et rassurant. Il sera la monture idéale pour m’emmener de l’autre côté de l’Atlantique », assure Julien Letissier.

Palmarès nautique :

- Participations aux courses du circuit Mini en 2018 et 2019
- Vainqueur de la CeltiKup 2017 (course en double)
- 2 podiums sur le Spi Ouest France en 2012 et 2013
- 3 podiums sur la Course Croisière Edhec entre 2012 et 2015
- Régates en Laser, Open 570, J80, Grand Surprise, IRC
- Nombreux convoyages en solitaire autour de la Bretagne et entre l’Angleterre et la France