LENAERTS MARIE AMELIE

32 years old

Belgium

BRUXELLES

Single

Consultant in sustainable, dynamic, participatory and creative development

https://www.marinsdaudace.com Go to skipper medias
833_lenaerts_0013-2.jpg

A bold sailor!

“A sense of curiosity is drawing me onwards. I’ve always wanted to go and see elsewhere, to push open doors and try new things. This curiosity is what’s led me in directions I hadn’t planned to take.” For Marie-Amélie Lenaerts, witnessing the start of the Mini-Transat 2017 was the trigger. “It gave me goose pimples that day”, she says. “After four months tracking the race and reading up on it, I’ve decided to set sail on the adventure myself. My main driver: to enjoy it to the full, learn to become a good sailor and come out the other side enriched by this life experience.”

A native of southern Belgium, there weren’t really any early indicators that Marie-Amélie would take to the water. However, at 10 years of age, she discovered Brittany aboard her Optimist. Later on, her summer job as a student was teaching youngsters how to sail… on a lake. Knowing this inland waterway by heart, Amélie felt a little restricted and decided to continue her marine-based experienced in the North Sea. And so it was that her adventure in the Mini-Transat La Boulangère adventure began in 2018.

For Marie-Amélie, the primary objective is to make Martinique with her little 6.50-metre boat. If she succeeds, she’ll become the very first Belgian woman to cross the Atlantic under sail and in race format. Her journey will guided by fun. “I want to power along under spinnaker with some good music and admire the beauty and the power of nature”, she explains.

Nautical track record:

- Participations in races on the Mini circuit in 2018 and 2019
- Volunteer skipper for an association which teaches youngsters to sail in Belgium
- IRC races on a JPK in the North Sea
- Adeps sailing instructor for 7 years (Belgium’s sailing federation)
- Adeps training sessions and competitions in an Optimist

LENAERTS MARIE-AMÉLIE

32 ans

Belgique

BRUXELLES

Célibataire

Consultante en développement durable et dynamiques participatives et créatives

https://www.marinsdaudace.com/ Voir les médias du skipper
20180906_duoconcarneau_0062.jpg

Marin d’audace !

« Une sorte de curiosité me tire vers l’avant. J’ai toujours envie d’aller voir ailleurs, de pousser des portes, d’essayer des choses nouvelles. Cette curiosité c’est ça qui m’a amenée à emprunter des chemins que je n’envisageais pas de prendre. » Pour Marie-Amélie Lenaerts, assister au départ de la Mini-Transat 2017 a fait office de déclic. « J’ai eu des frissons ce jour-là », raconte-t-elle. « Après quatre mois de suivi de course et de lectures sur le sujet, j’ai décidé de me lancer dans l’aventure. Ma principale motivation : vivre pleinement et apprendre à devenir un bon marin mais aussi sortir enrichie de cette expérience de vie. »

Originaire du Sud de la Belgique, Marie-Amélie ne semblait pas vraiment destinée à prendre le large. Mais à 10 ans, elle découvre la Bretagne à bord de son Optimist. Plus tard, son job étudiant, l’été, consiste à enseigner la voile à des jeunes, sur un lac. Ce plan d’eau fermé, qu’elle connaît par cœur, semble un peu restreint à Amélie qui poursuit son expérience nautique sur la mer du Nord. Et c’est donc début 2018 qu’elle se lance dans l’aventure Mini-Transat La Boulangère.

Pour Marie-Amélie, l’objectif est avant tout de rallier la Martinique avec son petit bateau de 6,50 mètres. Auquel cas, elle deviendrait la toute première femme belge à avoir traversé l’Atlantique à la voile et en course. Son périple sera guidé par le plaisir. « Je veux filer sous spi avec de la bonne musique, admirer la beauté et la puissance de la nature », dit-elle.

Palmarès nautique :

- Participations aux courses du circuit Mini en 2018 et 2019
- Skipper bénévole pour une association qui enseigne la voile à des jeunes en Belgique
- Régates en IRC sur un JPK en Mer du Nord
- Monitrice Adeps pendant 7 ans (l’équivalent de la FFVoile de Belgique)
- Stages Adeps et compétitions en Optimist