LE ROY PIERRE

34 years old

France

LA MADELEINE

Married, 1 child

Meteorologist at Météo France

https://www.pierre-le-roy.com/ Go to skipper medias
925_leroy_0017.jpg

A ‘northern’ Mini with big ambitions

Combining a profession and a passion, such was the bet taken up by Pierre Leroy when he launched into preparations for the Mini-Transat La Boulangère 2019. “I’m a meteorologist, it’s my job. For me, the Mini is part of a fully-fledged professional project to become a router and strategist for professional skippers", explains the man who has turned “keep at it” into a motto and a policy.

His fondness for sailing offshore – faraway and for long periods -, and his lust for competition and setting himself new targets, were enough to prompt him to commit to a long-term project put together step by step. A loyal member of the Lorient Grand Large training hub, which he has been faithfully frequenting over the past two years, Pierre gladly makes the journey to and from the Lille region of northern France, where he lives and works. A perfectionist, he is constantly out on the water honing and getting to grips with his Pogo 3 and, coming from northern France, she is christened with beer of course.

Already a specialist of marine forecasting and weather assistance for major sports events (offshore racing, tennis…), this sailor has more than one ace up his sleeve in his bid to successfully get his boat to the other side of the ‘big pond’. His meticulous preparation for the singlehanded race, together with his ability to carve out an inspired wake, already make him a serious contender, capable of sailing a blinder on his oceanic journey to Le Marin. “Taking a strategic risk, full-on stressing, seeing that an option’s paying off (or not…), the close-contact battles, especially at the end of the race when everyone is toast, the packet of dried meat to reward several hours at the helm, the sun that warms your heart in the early hours…” these are just some of the little delights you can enjoy at sea and they are sure to be among the real drivers for this informed amateur. One to watch…

Nautical track record:

The Optimist and catamaran at sailing school, then a spell at the renowned Les Glénans sailing school. A few years as sailing instructor then, still at Les Glénans, onto cruising.
Strategist and navigator within an A35 crew in numerous IRC races: RORC races (Fastnet, Commodores Cup), Spi Ouest-France, Ar Men Race, etc.

LE ROY PIERRE

34 ans

France

LA MADELEINE (59)

Marié, 1 enfant

Météorologue à Météo France

https://www.pierre-le-roy.com/ Voir les médias du skipper
925_leroy_0017.jpg

Un « ch’ti » Mini aux grandes ambitions

Faire rimer profession et passion, c’est le pari qu’a fait Pierre Leroy lorsqu’il s’est lancé dans la préparation de la Mini-Transat La Boulangère 2019. « Je suis météorologue, c’est mon métier. La Mini s’inscrit pour moi dans un projet professionnel à part entière pour devenir routeur et stratège de skippers professionnels, » explique celui qui a fait d’un « On ne lâche rien ! » une devise et une ligne de conduite.

Son plaisir de naviguer au large - loin et longtemps -, son goût pour la compétition et le dépassement de soi, ont fait le reste pour l’engager dans un projet de longue haleine, construit pas-à-pas. Fidèle du pôle d’entraînement Lorient Grand Large qu’il a fréquenté assidument ces deux dernières années, Pierre a volontiers multiplié les allers-retours au départ de la région lilloise, où il vit et travaille. Perfectionniste, il n’a eu de cesse aussi d’étrenner sur l’eau et de fiabiliser à sa main son Pogo 3 , "ch'ti" d’origine et baptisé à la bière comme il se doit.

Au-delà de l’anecdote, ce navigateur, déjà spécialisé dans les prévisions marines et l’assistance météo pour les grands événements sportifs (course au large, tennis…) a plus d’un avantage pour bien mener sa barque de l’autre côté de l’Atlantique. Sa préparation minutieuse à la course en solo, et sa faculté à tracer sa route de manière inspirée, en font déjà un concurrent sérieux, toujours capable d’un bon coup sur les chemins océaniques qui mèneront au Marin. « Prendre un risque stratégique, stresser un max, voir que ça paye (ou pas…) ; les batailles au contact surtout en fin de régate quand tout le monde est cramé ; le sachet de viande séchée comme récompense après plusieurs heures à la barre, le soleil qui réchauffe le cœur au petit matin… » sont quelques-uns de ses petits bonheurs en mer qui compteront à coup sûr parmi les vrais moteurs de cet amateur éclairé. À suivre de près…

Palmarès nautique :

L’Optimist et le catamaran à l’école de voile, puis aux Glénans. Quelques années en tant que moniteur de voile. La croisière ensuite, toujours aux Glénans.
Stratège et navigateur en sein d’un équipage en A35 sur de nombreuses courses IRC : courses du RORC (Fastnet, Commodores Cup), Spi Ouest-France, Ar Men Race, etc.