LAGNEAUX ALBERT

57 years old

Belgium

Brussels

Married, 2 children

Accident and emergency doctor

Go to skipper medias
882_lagneaux_0014.jpg

And little by little came the Mini...

“The Mini Transat is the objective which gives any Mini project meaning. Deep down, whether I wanted it or not, everything I’ve done since 2014 has paved the way, step by step, towards this transatlantic passage. After six years on the circuit, it’s time for me to go for it!” For Albert Lagneaux, accident and emergency doctor, his participation in the next race between La Rochelle and Le Marin has come as a matter of course and it’s sure to be an adventure he’ll experience to the full.

A well-informed athlete, familiar with half-marathons and hiking on the summits that make up the Alps, the Andes and the Himalayas, Albert has sailed all manner of craft in his time. From family cruises in the Mediterranean, from Greece to Spain, in the Bay of Biscay, as well as making his first foray into racing when he participated in the third Indian Ocean leg of the 2015 Clipper Round The World race aboard the winning boat, he has racked up an eclectic mix of experience.

In 2014, he got his first taste of the Mini 6.50 during the Mini-Fastnet. From that point on, he was smitten! Subsequently, he amassed a series of participations in the various events that make up the class. From 2016, he got together with his compatriot, Jonas Gerkens, one of the big movers and shakers of the circuit right now, who has played a key role in his apprenticeship. He has continued the journey, securing his golden ticket to take part in the big leap across the Atlantic in 2017 at the helm of a Pogo 3. For two years, the accident and emergency doctor from Brussels has demonstrated both patience and tenacity in keeping his project moving forward, his policy being to “always manœuvre with the current, never against it, and to always seek out a source of happiness in whatever he’s undertaking, despite the difficulties.”

Nautical track record

In Mini:
- Mini Fastnet 2014, 2015, 2016 and 2019
- Winner of the double-handed Transgascogne
- Lorient BSM 2016
- Pornichet Select, Trophée MAP and SAS 2018
- Plastimo Lorient 2019

LAGNEAUX ALBERT

57 ans

Belgique

Bruxelles

MARIé, 2 ENFANTS

Médecin urgentiste

Voir les médias du skipper
882_lagneaux_0014.jpg

Et petit à petit vint la Mini...

« La Mini Transat est l'objectif qui donne sens à tout projet Mini. Au fond, que je l'ai voulu ou pas, tout ce que j'ai pu faire depuis 2014, c'était de la préparation qui, pas à pas, me portait vers cette transat. Après six ans sur le circuit, il était temps pour moi d'y aller ! ». Pour Albert Lagneaux, médecin urgentiste, sa participation à la prochaine traversée entre La Rochelle et le Marin, qu’il vivra à coup sûr comme une aventure à part entière, est venue comme une évidence.

Sportif averti pratiquant le semi-marathon, la randonnée sur tous les sommets des Alpes, des Andes et de l’Himalaya, Albert embarque sur toutes sortes de supports depuis de longue date. Croisières en famille en Méditerranée, de la Grèce à l’Espagne, dans le golfe de Gascogne, ainsi qu'une première initiation à la course quand il participe en 2015 à la troisième étape, dans l'Océan Indien de la Clipper Round The World à bord du bateau vainqueur de ce tour du monde composent son expérience éclectique.

C’est en 2014 qu’il goûte au Mini 6.50 à l’occasion de la Mini-Fastnet. Le voilà piqué ! Il cumulera ensuite les participations aux différentes épreuves de la classe. À partir de 2016, il se rapproche de son compatriote, Jonas Gerkens, l’un des grands animateurs du circuit du moment qui jouera un rôle majeur dans son apprentissage. Dès lors, il poursuivra et décrochera son ticket d’entrée pour le grand saut à travers l’Atlantique en 2017 à la barre d'un Pogo 3. Depuis deux ans, le médecin urgentiste bruxellois tient toujours bon d’un projet qu’il aura mené avec patience et persévérance avec pour ligne de conduite de « toujours manœuvrer avec le courant, jamais contre lui ; et de toujours rechercher une source de bonheur dans ce qu’il entreprend malgré les difficultés. »

Palmarès nautique

En Mini :
- Mini Fastnet 2014, 2015, 2016 et 2019
- Vainqueur de la Transgascogne en double
- Lorient BSM 2016
- Pornichet Select,Trophée MAP et SAS 2018
- Plastimo Lorient 2019