KICK GEORGES

64 years old

France

MOISSAC

Married

Anaesthetist

Go to skipper medias
529_kick.jpg

“A fine journey into my inner self”

“The Mini-Transat is a project that’s been going round and round in my head for the past four years. I love the open sea and sailing singlehanded and this is the best there is. I hope to enjoy a fine journey into my inner self, a great sail and some lovely moments both on sea and land.”

An anaesthetist, Georges Kick got into sailing late in the day and honed his art through a series of lengthy experiences in Formula 28 and then J80. It’s in 2011 that he discovered offshore sailing whilst delivering a Class40 back from the Azores to La Rochelle, which is where Georges really got a taste for it. “The following year, another Class 40 delivery trip between Lorient and Quebec with Louis Duc served as confirmation that I relished sailing offshore”, he says. The passion became all-consuming, to the point where he could imagine himself participating in the Mini-Transat La Boulangère. In early 2016, he hit the long road leading to qualification for the race with a sturdy Pogo 2 (529), which already knows the way having finished three transatlantic passages.

It’s aboard this boat that Georges Kick will enjoy the pleasures of being at sea to the full: “The sunrises and sunsets, the starry sky at night, the dolphins, the whales and the absence of any hassle…!”

Nautical track record:

In Mini 6.50
- Participation in Les Sables-Les Açores-Les Sables 2018
- 12th Gran Premio d’Italia 2017
- 15th Mini Barcelona 2016

Others
- A ton of sailing in Formula 28 and J80
- Delivery trip from the Azores-La Rochelle in Class40
- Delivery trip from Lorient-Quebec in Class40

KICK GEORGES

64 ans

France

Moissac (82)

Marié

Médecin anesthésiste

Voir les médias du skipper
529_kick_0014.jpg

« Un beau voyage intérieur »

« La Mini-Transat est un projet qui me trotte dans la tête depuis quatre ans. J’aime le large, le solitaire et là c’est le summum. J’espère faire un beau voyage intérieur, une belle navigation et passer de beaux moments autant en mer qu’à terre. »

Médecin anesthésiste, Georges Kick commence à naviguer sur le tard et se perfectionne à force de longues expériences en Formule 28 puis en J80. C’est en 2011 qu’il découvre le large à l’occasion du convoyage retour d’un Class40 entre les Açores et La Rochelle. Georges prend goût à l’exercice. « L’année suivante, un autre convoyage en Class 40 de Lorient à Québec, avec Louis Duc, m’a confirmé le plaisir de naviguer au large », raconte-t-il. La passion devient dévorante, au point de s’imaginer participer à la Mini-Transat La Boulangère. Début 2016, il s’engage dans le long chemin menant à la qualification avec un Pogo 2 (le 529) robuste qui connaît le chemin puisqu’il a déjà terminé trois transats.

C’est sur ce bateau que Georges Kick, doyen de cette édition, va profiter pleinement du plaisir d’être en mer, à savoir : « Les levers et couchers de soleil, le ciel étoilé la nuit, les dauphins et autres baleines et l’absence d’emm…. ! »

Palmarès nautique :

En Mini 6.50
- Participation Les Sables-Les Açores-Les Sables 2018
- 12e Gran Premio d’Italia 2017
- 15e Mini Barcelona 2016

Autres
- Très nombreuses navigations en Formule 28 et J80
- Convoyage Les Açores-La Rochelle en Class40
- Convoyage Lorient-Québec en Class40