GUEHO SEBASTIEN

34 years old

France

LORIENT

In a relationship

Technical Director and associate at Gsea Design

Go to skipper medias
909_gueho_0013.jpg

“Early midlife crisis?”

Sébastien Guého is a very busy man professionally, though he’s setting some time aside to live out his Mini Transat dream. A Technical Director and associate at GSea Design, an SME of 17 associates specialised in the calculation of composite structures, he heads up some sizeable projects in the offshore racing sphere. A sailor himself, he’s an outdoor sports enthusiast and also goes surfing, cross-country skiing and mountaineering.

“At this stage in my life, I felt I needed a project which I could invest all my energy into that would enable me to push the envelope and have a great story to tell at the end. Early midlife crisis?” wonders Sébastien, who can count on the support of the GSea Design team to fully devote himself to his project, despite his significant responsibilities.

For his production Mini challenge, Sébastien Guého has turned to a reliable and optimised boat, a 2016 Pogo 3 with which Tanguy Bouroullec secured 4th place in the last Mini Transat. Sébastien notably participated in the Les Sables-Les Açores-Les Sables race aboard her last year. “The first leg was so difficult that I almost sold the boat in the Azores”, he admits. However, Sébastien regained his confidence and his desire to compete and finished 4th in the event at the end of the second leg.

So, what is he expecting from the Mini Transat La Boulangère 2019? “To take it all the way, push myself to the limit and come back stronger technically, humanly and competitively. I’ll make the most of the little pleasures of being at sea and the big ones too. It’ll be about having some time out, away from non-stop connectivity. I’ll be able to be myself without a filter, without others looking on.”

Nautical experience

In race mode:
- 5 participations in the Tour de France à la Voile (from 2007 to 2013)
- Record SNSM (Class 40, Trimaran Actual Ultim)
- Over 10 years of fleet races and match racing


Offshore:
- Trimaran ORMA 60, IMOCA 60 and Figaro delivery trips
- 9 months sailing along the coast of West Africa



In Mini 6.50:
- 
4th Mini Fastnet 2018
- 
4th Les Sables-Les Açores-Les Sables 2018

- Winner of the Chrono 6.50 2018

GUEHO SEBASTIEN

34 ans

France

LORIENT (56)

En couple

Directeur technique et associé de Gsea Design

Voir les médias du skipper
909_gueho_0013.jpg

« La crise de la trentaine ? »

Sébastien Guého est un homme très occupé professionnellement, qui se laisse tout de même le temps de vivre son rêve de Mini Transat. Directeur technique et associé de GSea Design, PME de 17 collaborateurs spécialisée en calculs de structures en composites, il chapeaute des projets d’envergure dans l’univers de la course au large. Lui même navigateur, il est passionné par les sports outdoor et pratique aussi le surf, le ski de randonnée et l’alpinisme.

« Je sentais qu’à ce moment de ma vie, j’avais besoin d’un projet sur lequel m’investir à fond et qui me permettait de repousser mes limites pour raconter une belle histoire à la fin. La crise de la trentaine ? », s’interroge Sébastien qui peut compter sur le soutien de l’équipe de GSea Design pour se consacrer de manière optimale à son projet, malgré ses importantes responsabilités.

Pour son défi en Mini de série, Sébastien Guého s’est tourné vers un bateau fiable et optimisé, un Pogo 3 de 2016 avec lequel Tanguy Bouroullec a décroché la 4e place sur la dernière Mini Transat. A son bord, Sébastien a notamment participé l’an dernier à la course Les Sables-Les Açores-Les Sables. « La première étape a été si difficile que j’ai failli revendre le bateau aux Açores », confie-t-il. Mais Sébastien a repris confiance, retrouvé l’envie et terminé 4e de l’épreuve à l’issue de la seconde étape.

Ce qu’il attend de la Mini Transat La Boulangère 2019 ? « Aller au bout de l’histoire, de moi-même et revenir plus fort techniquement, humainement et sportivement. Je profiterai des petits et des grands plaisirs d’être en mer. Ce sera une parenthèse hors du temps et de l’hyper connectivité. Je pourrai être moi-même sans filtre, sans le regard des autres. »

Expérience nautique

En course:
- 5 participations au Tour de France à la Voile (de 2007 à 2013)
- Record SNSM (Class 40, Trimaran Actual Ultim)
- Plus de 10 ans de régates en flotte et match racing


Au large :
- Convoyages Trimaran ORMA 60, IMOCA 60, Figaro
- 9 mois de navigation le long des côtes de l’Afrique de l’Ouest



En Mini 6.50 :

- 4e Mini Fastnet 2018
- 
4e Les Sables-Les Açores-Les Sables 2018

- Vainqueur de la Chrono 6.50 2018