GRASSI AMELIE

25 years old

France

Lorient

In a relationship

Sailor

Go to skipper medias
944_grassi_0010.jpg

“Either I win, or I learn”

Amélie Grassi unquestionably ranks among the favourites in the Mini-Transat 2019 amongst the production boats. In 2018, for her first season on the circuit, she secured some very fine results and finished 2nd in the French Singlehanded Offshore Racing Championship. “Before the Mini, I did a lot of top-level dinghy races, but never offshore. I didn’t know how to read a navigation chart” says the young woman, who has learnt her craft very quickly.

Graduating in employment law, she left Paris to settle in Brittany and follow in the footsteps of her mother, who participated in the Mini-Transat just ten years ago (2009). “It’s a fine project for continuing to live out my passion. Offshore racing and the Mini-Transat in particular, have been a source of inspiration to me for some years”, explains Amélie, who has a new Mini 6.50, a reliable, high-performance Pogo 3 she has named Tyrion, in reference to a famous character from the Game of Thrones series.

Amélie Grassi will set sail from La Rochelle with some fine ambitions. “I’m competitive, I’m in training and I’m working hard to give myself the means to win”, she says. “Whatever happens though, this Mini- Transat La Boulangère will be my greatest adventure and I’ll be very proud to get to the other side. Even if the expected result doesn’t pan out, I’m going to learn a massive amount in both sporting and human terms. I never lose. Either I win, or I learn.”

Nautical track record:

- Numerous dinghy races on a national and international level
- Participations in races on the Mini circuit 2018 (winner of the Plastimo Lorient Mini 6.50, 2nd in the Pornichet Select, 2nd in the Mini Fastnet)
- 2nd in the French Singlehanded Offshore Racing Championship 2018
- Participations in races on the Mini circuit 2019 (2nd in the Mini en Mai)

GRASSI AMÉLIE

25 ans

France

Lorient (56)

En couple

Navigatrice

Voir les médias du skipper
944_grassi_0010.jpg

« Soit je gagne, soit j’apprends »

Amélie Grassi peut sans conteste être classée au rang des favoris de la Mini-Transat 2019 du côté des bateaux de série. En 2018, pour sa première saison sur le circuit, elle a décroché de très jolis résultats et terminé 2e du Championnat de France Course au Large en Solitaire. « Avant le Mini, j’avais fait beaucoup de régates à haut niveau en voile légère mais jamais de large. Je ne savais pas lire une carte de navigation », raconte la jeune femme qui a appris très vite.

Diplômée de droit social, elle a quitté Paris pour s’installer en Bretagne et suivre les traces de sa mère, qui a participé à la Mini-Transat il y a tout juste dix ans (2009). « C’est un joli projet pour poursuivre ma passion. La course au large et particulièrement la Mini-Transat me font rêver depuis quelques années », explique Amélie qui dispose d’un Mini 6.50 neuf, un Pogo 3 performant et fiable baptisé Tyrion, en référence à un fameux personnage de la série Game of Thrones.

Amélie Grassi s’élancera de La Rochelle avec de belles ambitions. « Je suis compétitrice, je m’entraine et je travaille beaucoup pour me donner les moyens de gagner », dit-elle. « Mais quoi qu’il arrive, cette Mini- Transat La Boulangère sera ma plus grande aventure et je serai très fière d’arriver de l’autre côté. Même si le résultat escompté n’est pas atteint, je vais apprendre énormément, sportivement et humainement. Je ne perds jamais. Soit je gagne, soit j’apprends. »

Palmarès nautique :

- Nombreuses régates au niveau national et international en voile légère
- Participations aux courses du circuit Mini en 2018 (gagnante de la Plastimo Lorient Mini 6.50, 2e de la Pornichet Select, 2e du Mini Fastnet)
- 2e du Championnat de France Course au Large en Solitaire 2018
- Participations aux courses du circuit Mini en 2019 (2e de la Mini en Mai)