GRACHEVA IRINA

35 years old

Russia

Saint Petersburg

Single

Project manager in the field of technical certification

Go to skipper medias
579_gracheva_0014.jpg

Irina’s daydream

For the past two years, Irina Gracheva has thrown herself headlong into her plan to participate in the Mini-Transat La Boulangère. It’s an adventure every step of the way, which the young Russian is thoroughly enjoying. Step by step, she’s getting ever closer to achieving her dream and is now the first Russian woman to set off on a singlehanded offshore race. It’s highly symbolic for someone who began sailing at school at 13. A real fan, she later got into Quarter tonner and Open 800 sailing. Saint Petersburg, Vladivostok, Estonia and Finland are her familiar playgrounds, but her offshore experience also extends to an expedition to Cape Horn in 2015 aboard a 40’ monohull and, more recently, a double-handed transatlantic in 2017. 13 days, 5 hours, 19 minutes and 38 seconds of sailing from Bermuda to Plymouth were enough to definitively set her on the road to a singlehanded Atlantic passage.

In the space of two years, Irina has discovered pretty much all there is to know about a Mini-Transat project. Methodical, she initially opted to learn French, which she now has a real talent for (but not enough for her taste), before taking on multiple roles as project manager, technician, marketing rep, photographer and journalist to tell her story… “I just love this experience. I’ve had a ball during these two years of preparation. Driving this project and joining the Mini class has literally changed my life. Not only have I raised my game as a sailor, above all I’ve become a stronger, more solid person”, says Irina with stars in her eyes.

Having secured a visa and residence permit, she’s been able to confidently finish off her preparation. Aboard her production Mini launched in 2005, she’s racked up a number of races in the two seasons between 2018 and 2019. She’s finished every one of them. And she’s set herself the exact same goal for this Mini-Transat La Boulangère: “I just want to get to the finish in Martinique in as short a timeframe as possible!” announces Irina, before pointing out what she fears the most: “My fear is hitting something. A whale or a fishing boat that doesn’t appear on AIS. I’m also anxious about sailing for such a long period without the efficient support of the autopilot. I’m also fearful of not having any working electronics aboard or dismasting…” To ward off ill fortune, she’ll be slipping across the Atlantic listening to rock, watching the fish, birds and mammals crossing tacks with her and relishing the opportunity to be sailing alone offshore!

Nautical track record

2000-2008: Skipper of Quartertone Kvartet
2009-2015: Sailing an Open 800
2015: Expedition to Cape Horn aboard Kekilikstrion, a 40’ monohull
2013-2017: Sailing offshore aboard Anna, a 53’ monohull
2017: Season aboard the Class 40 Talanta 95, double-handed transatlantic with Mikael Ryking
2018-2019: Season in Mini Transat
19th in the Mini Fastnet 2019
16th in the Trophée Marie Agnès Peron 2019
23rd in the Mini en Mai 2019

GRACHEVA IRINA

35 ans

Russie

Saint-Petersbourg

Célibataire

Chef de projet dans le domaine des certifications techniques

Voir les médias du skipper
579_gracheva_0014.jpg

Le rêve éveillé d’Irina

Depuis deux ans, Irina Gracheva s’est lancée à corps perdu dans son projet de participation à la Mini-Transat La Boulangère. Une aventure de chaque instant dont la jeune Russe se délecte. Etape après étape, elle touche du doigt son rêve et est désormais la première femme russe à se lancer dans une course au large en solitaire. Tout un symbole pour celle qui a débuté la voile à l’école vers 13 ans. Passionnée, elle enchaine plus tard avec des navigations en Quarter tonner ou en Open 800. Saint-Peterbourg, Vladisvostok, l’Estonie ou la Finlande sont ses terrains de jeux mais sa connaissance du large passe aussi par une expédition au Cap Horn en 2015 à bord d’un monocoque de 40’ et une transat en double plus récemment, en 2017. 13 jours, 5 heures, 19 minutes et 38 secondes de navigation entre les Bermudes et Plymouth qui lui auront définitivement donné l’envie de s’élancer de nouveau à l’assaut de l’Atlantique mais cette fois en mode solo.

En deux ans, Irina a tout découvert d’un projet Mini Transat. Méthodique, elle a d’abord choisi d’apprendre le Français qu’elle maitrise désormais très bien (mais pas assez à son goût) puis elle a endossé tout à la fois le costume de chef de projet, de technicienne, de commerciale, de photographe, de journaliste pour raconter son histoire… « Je me réjouis de cette expérience. Je me suis régalée durant ces deux années de préparation. Mener ce projet, intégrer la classe Mini a littéralement changé ma vie. Non seulement j’ai amélioré mes connaissances en tant que marin mais je suis surtout devenue une personne plus forte, plus solide » raconte Irina des étoiles plein les yeux.

Visa et titre de séjour en poche, elle a pu terminer sereinement sa préparation. A bord de son Mini de série mis à l’eau en 2005, elle a enchainé les courses sur les deux saisons 2018 et 2019. Chaque fois, elle a terminé. C’est exactement l’objectif qu’elle s’est fixée sur cette Mini-Transat La Boulangère : « Je veux tout simplement aller jusqu’au bout en Martinique et cela, le plus vite possible ! » annonce Irina avant de rappeler ce qu’elle craint le plus : « Mon angoisse, c’est de taper quelque chose. Une baleine ou un bateau de pêcheur non signalé sur l’AIS. Et puis, j’appréhende aussi de naviguer longtemps dans le moment temps sans pouvoir compter sur le soutien efficace du pilote automatique. La peur aussi de ne plus avoir d’électronique à bord ou de démâter »… Pour conjurer le sort, elle glissera sur l’Atlantique en écoutant du rock, en observant poissons, oiseaux et mammifères qui croiseront sa route et en se régalant de son plus grand plaisir, celui pour lequel elle fait tout ça : naviguer seule au large !

Palmarès nautique

2000-2008 : Navigue à bord du Quartertone Kvartet en tant que skipper
2009-2015 : Navigue en Open 800
2015 : Expédition au Cap Horn à bord de Kekilikstrion, un monocoque de 40’
2013-2017 : Navigue au large à bord de Anna, un monocoque de 53’
2017 : Saison à bord du Class 40 Talanta 95, transat en double avec Mikael Ryking
2018-2019 : Courses de la saison Classe Mini
19e du Mini Fastnet 2019
16e du Trophée Marie Agnès Peron 2019
23e de la Mini en mai 2019