GOBET MATHIEU

28 years old

Switzerland

Fribourg

Single

Deputy Vice-Chancellor of Lausanne University

Go to skipper medias
455_gobet_0015.jpg

A (very) pressed Swiss skipper

“It might appear hackneyed, but sometimes in life you have to dare to go for it and put your rationality to one side a bit in order to experience the most wonderful things. Other than the desire to be here, there wasn’t a lot to suggest I would take the start of the Mini-Transat 2019.”

A gamble, a challenge… there’s a lot of that for Mathieu Gobet, who got into sailing very late in the day, in 2015, at the celebrated Les Glénans sailing school, where he did his national service. Things would then swiftly shift up a gear for this public management graduate, currently head of research at the University of Lausanne, who devotes the other half of his time to the Mini-Transat La Boulangère 2019. Here he is signed up for the craziest offshore race around, which remains open to all as soon as you dare to adventure and believe in your dreams, as farfetched as they may be.

Mathieu had never sailed singlehanded, spent a night at sea or competed in a race! No matter, he would methodically go about his project and he would begin by getting his hands on a reliable, solid boat which knows the way really well: a Pogo 2, which a certain Gwénolé Gahinet sailed to victory in 2011. “In the space of a year, I took my sailing instructor examination at Les Glénans sailing school and supervised for 6 months. As a result, I have precious little sailing experience at the end of the day. The Mini-Transat will be my eighth race start… so everything’s gone very quickly!"

“With four Mini-Transats to her credit, the boat will certainly be more confident than me on 22 September 2019,” admits Mathieu, who will be lucky enough to celebrate his birthday the day after the start. A fine gift to help him blow out his 28 candles and kick off another year in style, as he prepares to tuck into an action-packed Atlantic crossing, full of surprises.

GOBET MATHIEU

28 ans

Suisse

Fribourg

Célibataire

Adjoint au vice-recteur de l'Université de Lausanne

http://www.ose-atlantique.ch Voir les médias du skipper
455_gobet_0015.jpg

Skipper suisse (très) pressé

« Ça peut paraitre extrêmement bateau, et le terme est de circonstance, mais dans la vie il faut parfois oser se lancer en mettant un peu sa rationalité de côté pour vivre les plus belles choses. Si ce n’est l’envie d’y être, pas grand-chose ne me prédestinait à prendre le départ de la Mini-Transat 2019. »

Un pari, un défi… il y a beaucoup de ça pour Mathieu Gobet qui a commencé la voile très tard, en 2015, à l'école des Glénans où il décroche un service civique. La suite va s'accélérer pour ce diplômé en management public, actuellement adjoint au vice-recteur de l'Université de Lausanne et qui consacre l'autre moitié de son temps à la Mini-Transat La Boulangère 2019. Le voilà engagé dans la course au large la plus folle, qui reste ouverte à tous dès lors qu'on ose l'aventure et qu'on croit en ses rêves aussi farfelus soient-ils.

Mathieu n'avait jamais navigué en solitaire, passé une nuit en mer, disputé la moindre course ? Qu'importe, il va mener son projet avec méthode, et va commencer par mettre la main sur un bateau fiable et solide qui connaît bien la route : un Pogo 2 qu'un certain Gwénolé Gahinet a mené à la victoire en 2011. « J’ai en une année passée mon monitorat de voile aux Glénans et encadré durant 6 mois. J’ai donc finalement que très peu d’expérience vélique. La Mini-Transat sera mon huitième départ de course …. Tout aura donc été très vite ! »

« Avec ses quatre Mini-Transat à son compteur, le bateau sera sûrement bien plus serein que moi le 22 septembre 2019, » avoue Mathieu qui aura la chance aussi de fêter son anniversaire le lendemain du départ. Un beau cadeau pour souffler ses 29 bougies et entamer une nouvelle année de la plus belle des manières, à l'entame d'une traversée de l'Atlantique pleine de surprises et de rebondissements.