GENDRON MARIE

27 years old

France

ST MARC SUR MER

In a relationship

Composite engineer

http://www.marie-gendron.fr Go to skipper medias
930_gendron_0021.jpg

Built by hand and by heart

Marie, a young woman with boundless energy, has created a Mini project that is essentially an adventure involving the construction of a boat like no other: a prototype built within the rules, with her own fair hands and her heart. This enterprise has been efficiently run by this 27-year-old sailor, who for five years from 2012 to 2017, took up the massive challenge of creating her own boat. This all kicked off at the IUT polytechnic in Nantes, where Marie was studying composite materials and set up a project enabling a group of students to get their hands on some carbon fibre to form the hull, bulkheads and coachroof of a... Guillaume Verdier design... no less!

“I dreamt of having my own little boat. However, with no money, being a student, it’s hard to buy one, so it was as well to build! Once you’ve got to that stage, a prototype is always more beautiful and faster,” Marie easily explains. “It was a long old road. However, in September 2017, two years before the start of the Mini, I launched the boat with my own hands, like a birth. That in itself made reaching the end of the process worthwhile!”

Given Marie’s motivation and her ability to move mountains, it comes as no surprise that the famous naval architect entrusted his plans to her. Understandable too that Etienne Bertrand, himself a naval architect and builder of numerous Mini 6.50s, also readily got involved in this great story alongside Marie in order to bring the construction of this promising and innovative prototype to fruition.

With an entourage made up of this great small boat specialist and teachers and researchers from the Bordeaux laboratory I2M, Marie has continued to remain committed to the project, even taking it as far as it will go in an environmentally-friendly direction. Indeed, her atypical Mini, a brilliant on-the-water ambassador for sustainable development, comprises recycled carbon (the door, the helm…). “The circular economy is a key value in this project. It shines a spotlight on the challenges facing naval construction and the need to find solutions, which are more respectful of the environment,” reasons the sailor, whose entrepreneurial temperament clearly hasn’t finished surprising those around her. In fact, armed with her strong convictions, her project recently joined the “Ocean As Common” campaign created by Catherine Chabaud, herself a former Mini sailor. This comes as great recognition for Marie, for whom the best is yet to come with a much deserved Atlantic crossing at the helm of this Mini that is so like her.

Nautical track record

2011: first dinghy sailing competitions (1st in the Catagolfe)
2012: launches construction of her Mini
2014: several delivery trips in Mini 6.50, Multi50 and Figaro Bénéteau 2
2015: top-level Espoir athlete (J80)
2016: first Mini 6.50 races
2018: 5th in the French Mini 6.50 Championship

GENDRON MARIE

27 ans

France

ST MARC SUR MER (44)

En couple

ingénieur structures composites

http://www.marie-gendron.fr Voir les médias du skipper
930_gendron_0021.jpg

Construction main, construction cœur

La Mini de Marie, jeune femme à l’énergie débordante, c’est d’abord l’aventure d’une construction d’un bateau pas comme les autres : un prototype construit dans les règles de l’art, de ses mains et avec son cœur. Une entreprise rondement menée par cette navigatrice de 27 ans qui pendant cinq ans, de 2012 à 2017, a relevé l’immense défi de donner naissance à son bateau. Ce challenge de taille a débuté à l’IUT de Nantes, où Marie alors étudiante en matériaux composites a implanté son projet, permettant à un groupe d’élèves de mettre la main à la pâte en carbone pour donner forme à la coque, aux cloisons et au roof d’un plan Guillaume Verdier. Excusez du peu !

« Je rêvais de posséder un petit bateau à moi. Mais sans argent, étant étudiante, difficile d’acheter, alors autant construire ! Et puis un proto, c’est toujours plus beau et plus rapide, » explique simplement Marie. « Le chemin était long. Mais en septembre 2017, deux ans avant le départ de la Mini, j’ai vécu la mise à l’eau de ce bateau fait de mes propres mains comme une naissance. Rien que pour ça, ça valait la peine d’aller jusqu’au bout du chantier ! »

Au regard de la motivation de Marie et de sa capacité à déplacer des montagnes, on ne s’étonne pas que le célèbre architecte lui ait confié ses plans. On comprend aussi pourquoi Etienne Bertrand, lui-même architecte et constructeur de nombreux Mini.650, ait volontiers plongé à son tour dans cette belle histoire pour aboutir, aux côtés de Marie, la construction de ce prototype prometteur et novateur.

Aussi bien entourée de ce grand spécialiste des petits bateaux et des enseignants chercheurs du laboratoire bordelais I2M, Marie a poursuivi son engagement, qu’elle a poussé loin dans une démarche environnementale. Son Mini atypique, bel ambassadeur sur l’eau du développement durable, comprend en effet des pièces en carbone recyclé (la porte, la barre…) « L’économie circulaire est une valeur clef de ce projet. Il met l’accent sur les enjeux auxquels se confronte la construction navale et la nécessité de trouver de nouvelles solutions plus respectueuses de l’environnement, » justifie cette navigatrice au tempérament d'entrepreneuse qui n’a pas fini d’étonner son monde. Fort de ses convictions, son projet a d’ailleurs rejoint depuis peu la campagne « Ocean As Common » de Catherine Chabaud, elle-même ancienne « ministe ». Une belle reconnaissance pour Marie, dont le meilleur reste à venir sur une grande traversée méritée à la barre de ce Mini qui lui ressemble tant.

Palmarès nautique

2011 : premières compétitions en voile légères (1ère de la Catagolfe)
2012 : lance la construction de son mini
2014 : plusieurs convoyages en Mini 6.50, Multi50 et Figaro Bénéteau 2
2015 : sportive Haut Niveau Espoir (J80)
2016 : premières régates en Mini 6.50
2018 : 5ème du Championnat de France Mini 6.50