FORMET BENOIT

29 years old

France

Lorient (56)

In a relationship

Co-founder of Racing for the Oceans

http://www.racingfortheoceans.com Go to skipper medias
887_formet_0018.jpg

A human and ecological challenge

“You get to a point in life where you need a challenge, to achieve something, to tick a box. I think that was my initial motivation in going for the Mini-Transat La Boulangère.” Co-founder of Racing for the Oceans, a company whose aim is to encourage businesses to rid themselves of plastic use, Benoit will be lining up for his first solo transatlantic passage on 22 September 2019 in La Rochelle. It’s a human challenge for this native of Lorient, Brittany, who hopes to raise awareness about the struggle to combat plastic in the oceans by participating in the Mini-Transat La Boulangère.

To get to Le Marin, Benoît has invested in a Pogo 3, the 887, which amassed podiums in 2016 and 2017 and he has since updated. “She’s Frilouse, Pierre Chedeville’s former boat with a revamped design fairly late in the day since the funding wasn’t released very early. It’s said that Frilouse is the fastest and noblest of the Pogo 3s and so much the better! I have no solid Mini background, but we’re not immune to becoming good and if a miracle does happen, which it can, you don’t want to suffer the frustration of a boat that doesn’t make good headway!”

To accompany him in this new challenge and give himself every opportunity to do well, Benoît plans to carry one or two photos with him, along with a picture of the Black Madonna of Rocamadour, who protects sailors.

Maritime experience:

DEFI ATLANTIQUE (Class 40) 2019

Nautical track record:

- Pornichet Select 2019: 21st
- Mini Fastnet 2018: 14th
- Mini en Mai 2018: 30th
- Pornichet Select 2018: 37th
- Plastimo Lorient Mini 6.50 2018: 2nd

FORMET BENOIT

29 ans

France

Lorient (56)

EN COUPLE

Co-fondateur de Racing for the Oceans

http://www.racingfortheoceans.com Voir les médias du skipper
887_formet_0018.jpg

Un défi humain et écologique

« On arrive à un moment dans la vie où l’on a besoin de challenges, de réaliser quelque chose, de cocher une case. Je pense que c’était ma motivation première pour me lancer dans la Mini-Transat La Boulangère. » Co-fondateur de Racing for the Oceans, une société dont le but est d’inciter les entreprises à se débarrasser du plastique, Benoit s’alignera au départ de sa première traversée de l’Atlantique en solitaire, le 22 septembre prochain à La Rochelle. Un défi humain pour ce Lorientais qui souhaite au travers sa participation à la Mini-Transat La Boulangère sensibiliser autour de la lutte contre le plastique dans les océans.

Pour rallier Le Marin, Benoît a investi dans un Pogo 3, le 887 qui a collectionné les podiums lors des saisons 2016 et 2017 et qu’il a remis au goût du jour. « C’est Frilouse, l’ancien bateau de Pierre Chedeville avec un nouveau design très tardif puisque le financement a été débloqué assez tard. On dit de Frilouse qu'il est le plus rapide et le mieux né des Pogo 3. Tant mieux ! Je ne vaux rien en Mini, mais nous ne sommes pas à l'abri de devenir bon et si, par miracle, cela arrive, mieux vaut ne pas avoir la frustration du bateau qui n'avance pas ! »

Pour l’accompagner dans ce nouveau challenge et mettre toutes les chances de son côté, Benoît a prévu d’embarquer une ou deux photos mais aussi une image de la vierge noire de Rocamadour, la protectrice des marins.

Expériences nautiques :

DEFI ATLANTIQUE (Class 40) 2019

Palmarès :

- Pornichet Select 2019 : 21ème
- Mini Fastnet 2018 : 14ème
- Mini en Mai 2018 : 30ème
- Pornichet Select 2018 : 37ème
- Plastimo Lorient Mini 6.50 2018 : 2ème