Ferré Benjamin

28 years old

France

RENNES (35)

In love but single!

Entrepreneur - Adventurer - Speaker

http://benjaminferre.com Go to skipper medias
902_ferre_0017.jpg

Raw adventure!

At nearly 29 years of age – he’ll celebrate his birthday in the Canaries two days before the start of the second leg -, Benjamin already has several adventures and expeditions to his credit. Evidence of this dates back to 2010 and his participation in the 4L Trophy, a circumnavigation of the globe with stops in 2012-2013 and an Atlantic crossing with friends without GPS but with a sextant and self-sufficient in energy in 2015. This year, this Breton, a native of Rennes, has set his heart on the Mini-Transat La Boulangère. “I’m keen to discover a universe that intrigues me, to immerse myself in it and discover the extraordinary thrill of singlehanded offshore sailing. I believe it’s a real luxury today, in our super-connected world where the pace of everything is ever faster, to have the opportunity to experience solitude for 15 to 20 days.” And though he considers his participation in the Mini-Transat to be the “icing on the cake”, these two years of preparation will remain etched in his memory: “they’ll have contributed a great deal to forging my love of the ocean”!

To pull off this latest challenge and make it to Martinique, Benjamin has treated himself to a boat which, metaphorically speaking, started a gunfight during the previous edition: the 902, a Pogo 3, which a certain Clarisse Crémer christened “Pile Poil” (just the ticket) and aboard which she finished 2nd in the Mini-Transat 2017. “I fell completely in love with Pile Poil. In addition to having a horsey name, she also loves the same weather conditions as a pony! A few months after taming her, we ran aground at night at the entrance to the channel into La Trinité sur Mer. It was an opportunity to get to know each other better!” His biggest fear? “The idea of losing my autopilot paralyzes me with fear”.

This latest experience is something that Benjamin will share with his partner IMAGO, the first incubator of Adventures launched in France in 2017, whose objective is to bring to life ecological sports adventures that embrace three key elements: a pioneering spirit, an environmental and societal conscience and a sharing mindset.

Nautical track record:

Atlantic crossing with no GPS but with a sextant and self-sufficient in energy in 2015

Ferré Benjamin

28 ans

France

RENNES (35)

Amoureux mais célibataire !

Entrepreneur - Aventurier - Conférencier

http://benjaminferre.com Voir les médias du skipper
902_ferre_0017.jpg

L’aventure à l’état brut !

A presque 29 ans - il les fêtera aux Canaries deux jours avant le départ de la seconde étape -, Benjamin a déjà vécu plusieurs aventures et expéditions. Pour preuve, en 2010, il participe au 4L Trophy, réalise un Tour du Monde en stop en 2012-2013 et fait une traversée de l’Atlantique entre amis sans GPS au sextant et en autonomie énergétique en 2015. Cette année, c’est sur la Mini-Transat La Boulangère que ce Breton originaire de Rennes a jeté son dévolu. « J’ai envie de découvrir un univers qui m’intrigue, m’immerger dans celui-ci et découvrir les sensations extraordinaires du large en solitaire. Je trouve que c’est un véritable luxe aujourd’hui, dans un monde ultra connecté, où tout va toujours plus vite, d’avoir la chance de pouvoir faire l’expérience de la solitude pendant 15 ou 20 jours. » Et s’il considère sa participation à la Mini-Transat comme "la cerise sur le gâteau", ces deux années de préparation resteront gravées dans sa mémoire : « elles auront largement participé à forger mon amour de l’océan » !

Pour réussir ce nouveau défi et parvenir à rallier la Martinique, Benjamin s’est offert un bateau qui a fait parler la poudre lors de la précédente édition : le 902, un Pogo 3, qu’une certaine Clarisse Crémer avait baptisé "Pile Poil" et sur lequel elle a terminé 2ème de la Mini-Transat 2017. « J’ai eu un véritable coup de foudre pour Pile Poil. En plus d’avoir un nom de cheval, il aime bien les conditions météos de poney. Quelques mois après l’avoir apprivoisé, nous nous sommes échoués de nuit à l’entrée du chenal de la Trinité sur Mer. L’occasion de faire plus ample connaissance ! ». Sa pire angoisse ? « L’idée de perdre mon pilote automatique me tétanise ».

Cette nouvelle expérience, Benjamin la vivra aux côtés de son partenaire IMAGO, le premier incubateur d’Aventures lancé en France en 2017 et dont l’objectif est de faire naître des projets d’aventures sportifs, écologiques et solidaires autour de trois piliers : l’esprit pionnier, la conscience environnementale et sociétale et l’esprit de transmission.

Palmarès nautique :

Traversée de l’Atlantique sans GPS au sextant et en autonomie énergétique en 2015