DORANGE VIOLETTE

18 years old

France

Pont l'Abbé d'Arnoult

Single

Student

https://www.violettedorange.com Go to skipper medias
955_dorange.jpg

The youngest!

By taking the start of her first Mini-Transat at just 18 years of age, Violette Dorange will be the youngest competitor in this 22nd edition. Born in the Charente-Maritime region (in Rochefort), the young woman is also one of the locals of the leg since she’s a member of the Société des Régates Rochelaises in La Rochelle.

“I come from a family of sailor types and I started sailing an Optimist at 7”, she says. “I sailed the boat for eight years before switching to the 420 for my sports studies. I’ve travelled a lot to participate in all the competitions, including the world championships. It was great.” In Opti then 420, Violette has bagged some excellent results.

Violette Dorange has also secured two world premieres by crossing the English Channel and then the Straits of Gibraltar on her Optimist. “I adored heading offshore and the adventure. I realised it’s what most appeals to me. That’s why I’ve set myself the challenge of the Mini-Transat”, she explains. “Initially, I was focused on a project for the 2021 edition, but it was too long to wait! I don’t have time to really hone my skills and learn things methodically so I can’t set my sights on a great place, but why not a Top 10?”

Nautical track record:

- 1st girl to cross the English Channel on an Optimist (Isle of Wight/Cherbourg in 2016)
- 1st to cross the Straits of Gibraltar on an Optimist (Gibraltar/Ceuta in 2017)
- French 420 Champion in 2016 and 2017
- 3rd in the European 420 Championship in 2017
- No.2 in the 420 Youth Sailing World Championship in 2017
- Participations in races on the Mini circuit in 2018 and 2019

DORANGE VIOLETTE

18 ans

France

Pont l'Abbé d'Arnoult (17)

Célibataire

Étudiante

https://www.violettedorange.com Voir les médias du skipper
955_dorange.jpg

La benjamine !

En prenant le départ de sa première Mini-Transat à seulement 18 ans, Violette Dorange sera la plus jeune concurrente de cette 22e édition. Née en Charente-Maritime (à Rochefort), la jeune femme est aussi l’une des locales de l’étape puisqu’elle est membre de la Société des Régates Rochelaises.

« Je suis issue d’une famille de voileux et j’ai commencé l’Optimist à 7 ans », raconte-t-elle. « J’ai navigué pendant huit années sur ce support avant de faire du 420 en sport-études. J’ai beaucoup voyagé pour participer à toutes les compétitions, dont les Championnats du Monde. C’était génial. » En Opti puis en 420, Violette a décroché d’excellents résultats.

Violette Dorange a aussi réalisé deux premières mondiales en traversant la Manche puis le détroit de Gibraltar sur son Optimist. « J’ai adoré partir au large, à l’aventure. J’ai réalisé que c’est ce qui me plaît le plus. C’est pour cette raison que je me suis lancée le défi de la Mini-Transat », explique-t-elle. « Au début, j’étais partie sur un projet pour l’édition 2021, mais ça faisait trop longtemps à attendre ! Je n’ai pas eu le temps de vraiment me perfectionner et d’apprendre les choses méthodiquement. Je ne peux pas prétendre à une place géniale. Mais pourquoi pas un Top 10 ? »

Palmarès nautique :

- 1ère fille à traverser la Manche sur un Optimist (Ile de Wight/Cherbourg en 2016)
- 1ère à traverser le détroit de Gibraltar sur un Optimist (Gibraltar/Ceuta en 2017)
- Championne de France de 420 en 2016 et 2017
- 3e du Championnat d’Europe de 420 en 2017
- Vice-championne du monde jeune de 420 en 2017
- Participations aux courses du circuit Mini en 2018 et 2019