COLIN FRANCK

54 years old

France

Aytré (17)

In a relationship

Boat preparator / skipper

Go to skipper medias
709_colin.jpg

Ten years on!

Ten years after his first participation in the Mini-Transat where he finished 16th, Franck has chosen to return to the event. “I’ve already done a Mini Transat, back in 2009, with a boat I’d built and at the time it was like everything I’d ever done in boating had led up to that experience because I’d be sailing from 11 years of age. Today, I miss the open ocean and I’ve never found or felt as much elation helming a boat as I do the Minis. I want to rediscover the fun of the Mini and the atmosphere on land, for which there is no comparison. It’s a singlehanded transatlantic on a human scale, which you can easily share with fellow racers and those who remain on shore.”

This ‘repeat offender’ has bought the 709 for this latest challenge, which is the prototype with which Arthur Léopold Léger finished 2nd in the first leg of the Mini-Transat La Boulangère 2017, just a few seconds astern of the winner, Ian Lipinski. He hopes to make it into the Top 10 with her. “It’s the same model as the one with which Yves Le Blévec won the Mini-Transat in 2007. She has a canting mast, adjustable asymmetric daggerboards and lifting rudders.”

Away from the boat, Franck is a great athlete who loves surfing, swimming and cycling. Long runs slipping along downwind and encounters with marine fauna add to his pleasure at sea, but it’s also an opportunity “to feel vulnerable yet so alive at every instant”.

Nautical track record:

- Professional skipper in the West Indies from 1991 to 1997 (Charter, delivery trips, transatlantic passages), then préparateur-skipper for a yard in La Rochelle.
- A few races in crewed configuration (Cowes-Dinard / Semaine de La Trinité / Semaine de La Rochelle)
- Mini Fastnet 2002
- 16th in the Mini Transat 2009 with a pit-stop due to breaking his bowsprit.

COLIN FRANCK

54 ans

France

Aytré (17)

En couple, 1 enfant

Préparateur / skipper

Voir les médias du skipper
709_colin.jpg

Dix ans après !

Dix ans après sa première participation à la Mini-Transat où il avait terminé 16è, Franck a choisi de revenir sur l’épreuve. « J'ai déjà fait la Mini en 2009 avec un bateau que j'avais construit et à cette époque c'était comme l'aboutissement d'une vie autour du bateau car je navigue depuis mes 11 ans. Aujourd’hui, le large me manque et je n'ai jamais retrouvé et ressenti autant de plaisir à barrer un bateau comme les Minis. J’ai envie de retrouver le fun et l'ambiance Mini à terre qui est incomparable. C’est une transat en solitaire à taille humaine que l’on peut facilement partager entre coureurs et avec ceux restés à terre. »

Pour cette récidive, le skipper – préparateur a acquis le 709, un proto avec lequel Arthur Léopold Léger a terminé 2ème de la première étape de la Mini-Transat La Boulangère 2017 à quelques secondes du vainqueur, Ian Lipinski, et avec lequel il espère conquérir un Top 10. « C’est le même modèle que celui avec lequel Yves Le Blévec a gagné la Mini-Transat en 2007. Il possède un mat basculant, des dérives asymétriques réglables et des safrans relevables. »

En dehors du bateau, Franck est un grand sportif qui aime surfer, nager et faire du vélo. Les longues glissades au portant et les rencontres avec la faune marine font partie de ses plaisirs d’être en mer, mais c’est aussi pour lui l’occasion « à chaque instant de se sentir vulnérable et en même temps tellement vivant ».

Expériences nautiques :

- Skipper pro aux Antilles de 1991 à 1997 (Charter, convoyage, transat), puis préparateur skippeur pour un chantier Rochelais.
- Quelques courses en équipage (Cowes-Dinard / semaine de La Trinité / Semaine de La Rochelle),
- Mini Fastnet 2002
- 16ème de La Mini Transat 2009 avec escale technique due à la casse du bout dehors.