BOUROULLEC TANGUY

25 years old

France

GOUESNAC'H

In a relationship

Skipper/boat builder

Go to skipper medias
969_bouroullec_0037.jpg

“I feel like an underdog”

Tanguy Bouroullec is one of the ‘repeat offenders’ in the Mini-Transat La Boulangère. Two years ago, on his first participation, he bagged what he considered to be a frustrating 4th place in the production boat category. “I’d been counting on doing better than that, but I took an option that didn’t pay off. It was still an enjoyable experience though and I decided I wanted to set sail again with an innovative, high-tech project, so as to be bang up to date in the offshore racing environment”, explains Tanguy.

As such, this year Tanguy is competing with a refined Verdier designed foiling scow bow prototype. “The challenge was to design a versatile foiler able to race hard in all weathers and at every point of sail. In the Transgascogne, I saw that my Mini performs well even in very light airs”, says Tanguy.

Given the late launch of his prototype, Tanguy Bouroullec isn’t putting himself under any excessive pressure for a result as he’s well aware that the 969 has yet to prove herself. “The boat is brand spanking new and highly innovative, so getting to the other side of the Atlantic would be great in itself. Competitively I hope the results will follow. I feel like an underdog as I haven’t contested as many races as my main rivals.”

Nautical track record:

- 4th in the Mini Transat La Boulangère 2017 (production)
- Winner of Les Sables-Les Açores-Les Sables 2016 (production)
- 2nd in the Mini Fastnet 2017 (production)
- 3rd in the Mini Fastnet and 2nd in the Transgascogne in 2019 (prototype)
- Participation in the Transat AG2R 2018 (with Tom Dolan)

BOUROULLEC TANGUY

25 ans

France

Gouesnach (29)

En couple

Skipper-constructeur naval

Voir les médias du skipper
969_bouroullec_0037.jpg

« Je me sens comme un outsider »

Tanguy Bouroullec fait partie des "récidivistes" de la Mini-Transat La Boulangère. Il y a deux ans, pour sa première participation, il s’était emparé d’une 4e place frustrante en série. « Je comptais faire mieux mais j’ai pris une option qui n’a pas payé. L’expérience a tout de même été plaisante et j’ai eu envie de repartir avec un projet innovant, un bateau high tech pour être au goût du jour dans la course au large », explique Tanguy.

Tanguy s’engage donc cette année avec un proto détonnant, un scow à foils sur plan Verdier. « Le défi a été de concevoir un foiler polyvalent, capable de marcher dans tous les temps, à toutes les allures. Sur la Transgascogne, j’ai pu constater que mon Mini est performant même dans les tous petits airs », raconte Tanguy.

Compte tenu de la mise à l’eau tardive de son proto, Tanguy Bouroullec ne se met pas de pression sportive excessive, bien conscient que le 969 doit encore faire ses preuves. « Le bateau est tout neuf, très innovant, donc arriver de l’autre côté de l’Atlantique serait une belle satisfaction. J’espère que ça suivra sportivement. Je me sens comme un outsider car je n’ai pas disputé autant de courses que mes principaux concurrents. »

Expériences nautiques :

- 4e de la Mini Transat La Boulangère 2017 (série)
- Vainqueur Les Sables-Les Açores-Les Sables 2016 (série)
- 2e du Mini Fastnet 2017 (série)
- 3e du Mini Fastnet et 2e de la Transgascogne en 2019 (proto)
- Participation à la Transat AG2R 2018 (avec Tom Dolan)