BLANCHET THIBAULT

26 years old

France

Ars en Ré (17)

Single

Engineer, employee at ALTEN

Go to skipper medias
774.jpg

“Pulling off a project that seems crazy from the outside…”

Thibault Blanchet has more of a cruising background rather than a racing one. And yet, here he is about to take the start of a big and beautiful race, the Mini-Transat La Boulangère 2019. “The aim is to prove to myself that I too am capable of pulling off a project that seems crazy from the outside: crossing the Atlantic singlehanded on a 6.50m boat without any means of communication”, he explains. “All the project management over the past two years has been very rewarding. I think that experiencing solitude for more than two weeks will be thrilling.”

Thibault used to play top-level field hockey, but his Mini project has become too time-consuming. Preparing for an adventure like this requires 100% of your time. Thibault is taking the plunge with a Pogo 2, number 774, which has a few quirks. “She’s a very reliable and solid boat, which doesn’t get too wet and also has the benefit of a bulb aft of the keel fin, which helps keep the seaweed off it.”

On the quest for freedom, Thibault Blanchet is expecting the good times to roll on the Atlantic: “Late evening, preferably not too cold, under the moon and the stars, is utterly exhilarating, the start of a whole new adventure! Or the wind kicking back in and the boat slipping along and accelerating away on flat seas after a period of calm…”

Nautical track record:

- Participations in races on the Mini circuit in 2018 and 2019
- Annual cruises on an OVNI 41 (passage from Ile de Ré off La Rochelle/Canaries in 2003)
- Crewed sailing on a Kelt 6.20

BLANCHET THIBAULT

26 ans

France

Ars en Ré (17)

Célibataire

Ingénieur, employé d'ALTEN

Voir les médias du skipper
774.jpg

« Réaliser ce projet qui vu de l’extérieur paraît fou… »

Thibault Blanchet vient davantage du monde de la croisière que de la régate. Le voilà pourtant en lice pour prendre part à une grande et belle course, la Mini-Transat La Boulangère 2019. « L’objectif est de me prouver que moi aussi je suis capable de réaliser ce projet qui vu de l’extérieur paraît fou : traverser l’Atlantique sur un bateau de 6,50 m en solitaire et sans moyen de communication », explique-t-il. « Toute la gestion de projet que je mène depuis deux ans est très enrichissante. Je pense que l’expérience de la solitude pendant plus de deux semaines sera passionnante. »

Auparavant, Thibault pratiquait le hockey sur gazon à haut niveau mais son projet Mini est devenu trop chronophage. Une telle aventure se prépare à 100 %. Thibault se lance avec un Pogo 2, le 774, qui présente quelques spécificités. « C’est un bateau très fiable et solide qui ne mouille pas trop il a aussi pour avantage d’avoir un bulbe en arrière du voile de quille ce qui aide les algues à partir. »

En quête de liberté, Thibault Blanchet s’attend à vivre de très jolis moments sur l’Atlantique : « Le début de la nuit, de préférence pas trop fraîche avec la lune et les étoiles, c’est complètement euphorisant, c’est l’aventure qui commence ! Ou alors le vent qui revient et le bateau qui glisse et accélère sur une mer plate après une pétole... »

Palmarès nautique :

- Participations aux courses du circuit Mini en 2018 et 2019
- Croisières annuelles sur un OVNI 41 (traversée Ile de Ré/Canaries en 2003)
- Navigations sur un Kelt 6,20 en équipage