BARRIQUAND NICOLAS

46 years old

France

Vannes (56)

In a relationship, 2 children

Production manager at Uship (network of deck hardware shops)

Go to skipper medias
824_barriquand_0009.jpg

“I’ve dreamt about it for the past 25 years”

Sometimes, the choice of boat is a given. “I competed in the Transgascogne 2013 with a friend on the Mini 579. A few miles after the start, Justine Mettraux on number 824 overtook us upwind and she really had the edge in terms of heading and speed. I said to myself that if I ever put together my own project, I’d like to do it on that boat. Five years on, I bought it and Justine is the patron of my project”, beams Nicolas Barriquand, who points out that it’s aboard this Nacira that the Swiss sailor finished 2nd in the Mini-Transat 2013.

Though Nicolas had considered the boat he’d like to take on the Atlantic with one day, he needed a trigger to put his words into action. “I’ve dreamt about it for 25 years. Witnessing the start of the 2017 edition, I decided it was time to stop dreaming and go for it. I love being offshore, racing and sailing singlehanded and I want to experience an intense project to the full and satisfy by desire to see distant horizons”, he explains.

Among Nicolas Barriquand’s sources of inspiration is a track by the French singer Anis, “Avec le vent” (With the wind). “This song encourages me to be in tune with the elements”, stresses the sailor. “I’m so happy to be on the water to slip along, to sail a long, very windy reach with eased sheets, under code 5, where the boat is hurtling along flat out, surfing constantly, with the light of sunrise, dolphins around the boat, and night-time in the phosphorescent plankton.”

Nautical track record:

- Coastal and offshore cruises
Crewed and double-handed races (including the Transgascogne 2013)
- Participation in races on the Mini circuit in 2018 and 2019

BARRIQUAND NICOLAS

46 ans

France

Vannes (56)

En couple, 2 enfants

Chef de produits chez Uship (réseau de magasins d’accastillage)

Voir les médias du skipper
824_barriquand_0009.jpg

« J’en rêvais depuis 25 ans »

Parfois, le choix d’un bateau s’impose de lui-même. « J’ai couru la Transgascogne 2013 avec un ami sur le Mini 579. Quelques milles après le départ, Justine Mettraux sur le 824 nous a doublés au près, elle avait un net avantage en cap et en vitesse. Je me suis dit que si je lançais mon propre projet, j’aimerais le faire sur ce bateau. Cinq ans plus tard, je l’ai acheté et Justine est la marraine de mon projet », raconte Nicolas Barriquand qui rappelle que c’est à bord de ce Nacira que la Suissesse a terminé 2e de la Mini-Transat 2013.

Si Nicolas avait en tête le voilier sur lequel il voudrait un jour défier l’Atlantique, il a fallu qu’un déclic survienne pour passer aux actes. « J’en rêvais depuis 25 ans. En assistant au départ de l’édition 2017, j’ai décidé qu’il était temps d’arrêter de rêver et qu’il fallait que je me lance. Par goût du large, de la course et de la navigation en solo, pour vivre pleinement un projet intense, pour satisfaire mon envie d’aller voir plus loin », explique-t-il.

Parmi les sources d’inspiration de Nicolas Barriquand, on trouve un titre du chanteur d’Anis, "Avec le vent". « Cette chanson m’encourage à être en phase avec les éléments », souligne le navigateur. « Je suis tellement content d’être sur l’eau pour la glisse, un grand bord bien venté au reaching un peu ouvert, sous code 5, où le bateau file pleine balle sans s’arrêter de surfer, les lumières des levers de soleil, les dauphins autour du bateau, la nuit dans le plancton phosphorescent. »

Palmarès nautique :

- Croisières côtières et hauturières
- Courses en équipage et en double (dont la Transgascogne 2013)
- Participations aux courses du circuit Mini en 2018 et 2019