BACHÈLERIE JEAN

24 years old

France

LORIENT (56) / Paris (75)

In a relationship

Sailor - architect

http://www.jeanbarque.wixsite.com/minitransat Go to skipper medias
428.jpg

A joint venture!

Jean has been sailing with his nearest and dearest since childhood. After a few years cutting his teeth in sports dinghy racing and then IRC, he opted to turn his attention to singlehanded offshore sailing, setting himself the challenge of participating in the Mini-Transat La Boulangère. “I was after a breath of fresh air and a major challenge and I haven’t been disappointed so far! The Mini-Transat is a legend and a mystery for initiates and it has had real appeal for me since I learnt of its existence. I’d never have believed I’d get to this stage! I’d like to get to the other side in good shape with a boat in tip-top condition and if I can do it faster than my playmates, so much the better…”

Launched in 2003, the 428 is a Pogo 2 that Jean unearthed in Brittany and recommissioned. “I found her in a very sorry state, parked up in a corner of Lorient. She was assembled from a kit in 2003 by David Sineau. She’s a boat that did just one transatlantic passage before stopping sailing in around 2007. She needed some elbow grease but totally adhered to my programme, which is a Mini-Transat in adventure mode”.

For someone who has an unconditional love for travel and exploration, it’s an adventure, which he will share throughout his passage with a myriad of minor partners; little boosts without which the project wouldn’t be possible. “They’ve joined forces around an association: a school for Guayas. It comprises architecture students who build schools in Ecuador with their own hands for the most remote villages. They too will share in the adventure!”

Maritime experience:

Jean’s sailing experience goes back a long way, with family, port-hopping and for summer jaunts. He’s also done a few local regattas in a sports dinghy and a few years in IRC (crewed offshore races) with two seasons singlehanded.

BACHÈLERIE JEAN

24 ans

France

LORIENT (56) / Paris (75)

EN COUPLE

Navigateur - architecte

http://www.jeanbarque.wixsite.com/minitransat Voir les médias du skipper
428.jpg

L’aventure ensemble !

Jean navigue depuis son enfance en famille. Après quelques années à faire ses gammes en dériveur puis en IRC, il décide de s’orienter vers le solitaire et le large en se lançant le défi de participer à la Mini-Transat La Boulangère. « J’avais envie d’un bol d’air frais et d’un gros challenge. Pour l’instant je ne suis pas déçu ! La Mini-Transat est un mythe d’initiés, mystérieux et qui m’attire beaucoup depuis que je connais son existence. Je n’aurais jamais cru pouvoir en arriver là ! J’aimerais arriver de l’autre côté en forme avec un bateau en bonne santé et si je peux le faire plus vite que les petits copains, ce sera encore mieux… ».

Mis à l’eau en 2003, le 428 est un Pogo 2 que Jean a déniché en Bretagne et qu’il a remis en service. « Je l’ai trouvé tout sale, rangé dans un coin à Lorient. Il a été monté en kit en 2003 par David Sineau. C’est un bateau qui a fait une seule transat avant d’arrêter de naviguer vers 2007. Il avait besoin d’huile de coude mais il correspondait complètement à mon programme à savoir une Mini-Transat en mode aventure ».

Une aventure que cet amoureux inconditionnel des voyages et de la découverte ne vivra pas tout seul puisqu’il sera accompagné tout le long de sa traversée d’une myriade de petits partenaires. Des coups de pouces sans lesquels le projet n’aurait pu voir le jour. « Ils se sont rassemblés autour d’une association : une école pour Guayas. Elle est constituée d’étudiants en architecture qui construisent de leurs propres mains des écoles en équateur pour les villages les plus reculés. Eux aussi ils partent à l’aventure ! »

Expériences nautiques :

Jean navigue depuis longtemps en famille, sauts de puces de ports en ports et baignades estivales. Quelques régates locales en dériveur et quelques années d’IRC (régates et course au large en équipage) et deux saisons en solitaire.