BACH FREDERIC

39 years old

France

Moëlan-sur-Mer (29)

In a relationship, "one and a half child" (due date early August)

Marine technician

Go to skipper medias
533_bach_0013.jpg

“I regularly set myself new challenges”

“I’m not someone who started on an Optimist at the age of 5 and has a background racing dinghies. I’m more of an all-round athlete involved in multiple sports. I began with windsurfing and then sampled the delights of kitesurfing when it was still the sport’s early days. I also go running, downhill mountain biking and I regularly set myself new challenges.” Frédéric Bach finds something to assuage his thirst for a challenge in the Mini-Transat.

In 2017, he climbed aboard a friend’s Pogo 2 with whom he took part in several races. “I caught the bug then and there and I wanted my own Mini and the chance to cross the Atlantic. I tracked down a Mistral 6.50 in poor condition and in need of a bit of love and attention. She called out to me, she’s my Kirikou! I wanted to make her sing again. I’d only had her two minutes when I gave her a complete overhaul inside and out. She’s ready for an adventure.” Frédéric competed in his first singlehanded race in the Mini en Mai 2018. After that, he completed all the events for his first season at the helm of his project.

Frédéric Bach has been working in boatyards since he was 20. He’s spent several years as team manager in the construction and finishing off of a Mini (the Pogo 2). “I know these boats like the back of my hand. My skills in construction, deck hardware and electronics will be a real bonus in the preparation and in the race itself should any repairs be required.”

Nautical track record:

- Windsurfing and kitesurfing experiences
- Double-handed race on a Mini in 2017
- Participation in races on the Mini circuit in 2018 and 2019

BACH FREDERIC

39 ans

France

Moëlan-sur-Mer (29)

En couple, "un enfant et demi" (naissance début août)

Technicien nautique

Voir les médias du skipper
533_bach_0013.jpg

« Je me fixe régulièrement de nouveaux défis »

« Je ne fais pas partie de ceux qui ont commencé l’Optimist à 5 ans et qui ont un parcours de régatier en dériveur. Je suis plutôt un multi sportif, j’ai commencé par la planche à voile et me suis ensuite testé au plaisir du kitesurf dès le début de ce sport. Je pratique aussi la course à pied, le VTT de descente et je me fixe régulièrement de nouveaux défis. » Frédéric Bach trouve dans la Mini-Transat de quoi assouvir sa soif de challenge.

En 2017, il embarque sur le Pogo 2 d’un ami pour participer à des courses à ses côtés. « J’attrape alors le virus, j’ai envie d’avoir mon Mini et de traverser l’Atlantique. Je trouve un Mistral 6.50 en mauvais état qui a besoin de soins. Ce bateau me tend les bras, c’est mon Kirikou ! J’ai envie de lui redonner des couleurs. A peine adopté, je refais complètement l’intérieur et l’extérieur. C’est parti pour l'aventure. » Frédéric dispute sa première course en solitaire à l’occasion de la Mini en Mai 2018. Puis il boucle toutes les épreuves pour sa première saison à la barre de son projet.

Frédéric Bach travaille depuis ses 20 ans dans des chantiers nautiques. Il a passé plusieurs années en tant que chef d’équipe dans la construction-finition d’un Mini (le Pogo 2). « Je connais parfaitement ces bateaux. Mes compétences en construction, en accastillage ou en électronique seront un vrai plus dans la préparation et au cours de la course pour assurer toutes les réparations nécessaires. »

Palmarès nautique :

- Expériences en planche à voile et en kitesurf
- Courses en double en Mini en 2017
- Participations aux courses du circuit Mini en 2018 et 2019