Romain TELLIER
Romain TELLIER

Romain TELLIER

  • 865 Proto
  • Guénifey - Stid
  • drapeau FRA M • 10/05/1992 • 29 years old
  • drapeau FRA M10/05/199229 years old

Portrait

When asked why he’s doing the Mini Transat, Romain Tellier has a pragmatic response; “why not?” Originally from the Bouches-du-Rhône in southern France, the skipper of the prototype Guenifey cut his sailing teeth on an Optimist and then a Hobie Cat, before setting sail across the horizon for two years with his family.

Two years during which time he learned all about mechanics, electricity as well as ocean survival. “I learnt to live aboard a boat, how to approach calm and rough seas, deal with breakage, effect repairs with the means available aboard the boat, understand the weather… In short, it was an intense course in offshore sailing”, he explains, and in so doing he has effectively already completed no fewer than four transatlantic and one transpacific passage.

What appeals to me about the Mini Transat is the adventure aspect. Modern means of communication are not allowed and therefore we’re left to our own devices on our tiny boats. It’s really intriguing. It adds another dimension to it”, enthuses Romain who, following his studies in geology and his first work experience in a geotechnical company, decided to redirect his career towards taking a Yachtmaster certificate. I hope to make it to the other side with the boat in one piece, enjoy myself out at sea and have a good laugh with the others on land. I’m going to do my best and give my all. A Top 5 in Guadeloupe would be cool”, concludes the skipper, whose Maximum is none other than the winner of the last two editions, in the hands of Ian Lipinski and then François Jambou.

Palmares

Guénifey - Stid

His boat

  • Boat Number: 865
  • Boat Race Name: Guénifey - Stid
  • Category: Proto
  • Building year: 2014
  • Architecte: Raison
  • Énergie à bord: Panneaux solaires

Label Bleue

  • EEPU La Lande de Fronsac, 33240 La Lande de Fronsac

His project

Follow

News

See all news

Romain TELLIER
Romain TELLIER

Romain TELLIER

  • 865 Proto
  • Guénifey - Stid
  • drapeau FRA M • 10/05/1992 • 30 ans
  • drapeau FRA M10/05/199230 ans

Portrait

Lorsqu’on lui demande pourquoi la Mini Transat, Romain Tellier répond de manière pragmatique, « et pourquoi pas ? ». Originaire des Bouches-du-Rhône, le skipper du Proto Guenifey a fait ses premières armes en Optimist puis en Hobie Cat, avant de prendre le large en famille durant deux ans.

Deux années durant lesquelles il s’est formé à la mécanique, à l’électricité, mais aussi à la survie en mer. « J’ai appris à vivre sur un bateau, à aborder la mer calme et agitée, à gérer la casse, à réparer avec les moyens du bord, à comprendre la météo… Bref, à pratiquer la navigation hauturière », résume le sudiste qui a ainsi déjà effectué pas moins de quatre transatlantiques et une transpacifique.

« Ce qui m’attire dans la Mini Transat, c’est le côté aventure. Il n’y a pas le droit aux moyens de communication modernes. On est donc livrés à nous-mêmes sur nos bateaux minuscules. C’est super intéressant. Ça rajoute un vrai truc », raconte Romain qui, après des études en géologie et une première expérience dans une entreprise de géotechnique, a ensuite réorienté sa carrière pour passer un diplôme de Yachtmaster. « J’espère arriver de l’autre côté avec le bateau entier, m’amuser en mer, et me marrer avec les autres à terre. Je vais faire de mon mieux et tout donner. Un Top 5 en Guadeloupe, ce serait cool », termine le skipper dont le Maximum n’est autre que le vainqueur des deux dernières éditions, avec Ian Lipinski puis François Jambou.

Palmarès

Guénifey - Stid

Son Bateau

  • Numéro du bateau : 865
  • Nom de course du bateau : Guénifey - Stid
  • Catégorie : Proto
  • Année de construction: 2014
  • Architecte : Raison
  • Énergie à bord : Panneaux solaires

Label Bleue

  • EEPU La Lande de Fronsac, 33240 La Lande de Fronsac

Son projet

Suivre

News

Consulter toute l'actualité