Piers COPHAM
Piers COPHAM

Piers COPHAM

  • 719 Proto
  • Voiles des Anges
  • drapeau GBR M • 04/04/1962 • 59 years old
  • Lorient
  • drapeau GBR M04/04/196259 years old
  • Lorient

Portrait

It would be impossible to sum up Piers Copham’s professional career in a matter of lines. Indeed, the Briton boasts a whole string of degrees (including a doctorate in metallurgy and material science and an MBA from the Institut européen d’administration des affaires in Fontainebleau – known more familiarly as the Business School for the World), working as a chemical engineer in Germany, Holland and the United Kingdom, before becoming the director of a niche strategy consultancy, Granta Strategy, whose role is to support an extensive range of organisations with drawing up a commercial strategy and raising investment funds. 
So where does sailing fit into all that? It’s a story that dates way back for the Cophams.One of my family’s ancestors was captured by Napoleon, then imprisoned in Brittany, before making good his escape to Wales on a stolen frigate”, explains the sailor, who lives in Loxley, on the outskirts of Sheffield, and taught himself to sail at the age of 6 in north-west Scotland, by converting an old rowing boat into a little sailboat using a bedsheet. “Perhaps that explains why my sailing isn’t quite as polished as it could be!”jokes Piers, who’s racked up a wealth of experience in recent years, sometimes on a Laser, sometimes on a Swan 47, as well as anywhere in between, from a Frers 55 to a J105, HOD35 and an Open 40.
So why the Mini Transat? It’s an adventure I’d have liked to have started 20 years ago! To my mind, it’s the ultimate sailing experience given the size of the boats and the scale of the challenge, which is accessible to ‘normal’ people”, explains the skipper of Voiles des Anges, an association supporting parents who have lost a child. His goals: to continue learning, to do my best, to make the most of being at sea and not to embarrass my boat’s heritage!”

Palmares

His boat

  • Boat Number: 719
  • Boat Race Name: Voiles des Anges
  • Category: Proto
  • Building year: 2007
  • Architecte: Étienne Bertrand
  • Énergie à bord: Panneaux solaires et pile à combustible

Label Bleue

His project

Follow

News

See all news

Piers COPHAM
Piers COPHAM

Piers COPHAM

  • 719 Proto
  • Voiles des Anges
  • drapeau GBR M • 04/04/1962 • 59 ans
  • Lorient
  • drapeau GBR M04/04/196259 ans
  • Lorient

Portrait

Impossible de résumer le parcours professionnel de Piers Copham en quelques lignes seulement. Le Britannique, bardé de diplômes (parmi lesquels un doctorat en métallurgie et science des matériaux et un MBA décroché à l’institut européen d’administration des affaires de Fontainebleau), a tour à tour travaillé comme ingénieur chimiste en Allemagne, aux Pays-Bas et au Royaume-Uni, avant de devenir directeur d’une entreprise de conseil en stratégie de niche, Granta Strategy, dont la fonction est d’accompagner un large éventail d’organisations pour élaborer une stratégie commerciale et lever des fonds d’investissement.

La voile dans tout ça ? C’est une histoire qui ne date pas d’hier chez les Copham. « Un des ancêtres de ma famille fût capturé par Napoléon, puis envoyé en prison en Bretagne avant de s’échapper en volant une frégate pour rejoindre le Pays de Galles », raconte le résident de Loxley, dans la périphérie de Sheffield, qui a lui-même appris à naviguer à l’âge de 6 ans dans le nord-ouest de l’Écosse, en transformant un ancien bateau à rames en petit voilier, à l’aide d’un drap de lit. « Cela explique peut-être pourquoi ma navigation n’est pas aussi soignée qu’elle pourrait l’être ! », s’amuse Piers qui a engrangé de nombreuses expériences, ces dernières années, tantôt en Laser, tantôt en Swan47, en passant par le Frers 55, le J105, le HOD35, ou encore l’Open 40.

Pourquoi la Mini Transat ? « C’est une aventure que j’aurais aimé commencer il y a 20 ans ! Pour moi, il s’agit de l’expérience de navigation ultime compte tenu de la taille des bateaux et de l’ampleur du défi, malgré tout, accessible aux personnes « normales » », déclare le skipper de Voiles des Anges, une association de soutien aux parents ayant perdu un enfant. Ses objectifs : « continuer d’apprendre, faire de mon mieux, profiter d’être en mer, et ne pas trop embarrasser l’héritage de mon bateau ! »

Palmarès

Son Bateau

  • Numéro du bateau : 719
  • Nom de course du bateau : Voiles des Anges
  • Catégorie : Proto
  • Année de construction: 2007
  • Architecte : Étienne Bertrand
  • Énergie à bord : Panneaux solaires et pile à combustible

Label Bleue

Son projet

Suivre

News

Consulter toute l'actualité