Pierre MEILHAT
Pierre MEILHAT

Pierre MEILHAT

  • 485 Serie
  • Le Goût de la Vie
  • drapeau FRA M • 18/11/1954 • 66 years old
  • Lorient
  • drapeau FRA M18/11/195466 years old
  • Lorient

Portrait

At 66 years old, Pierre Meilhat is one of the oldest sailors in this 23rd edition of the Mini Transat.

I’m aware that at my age I’m not going to make a career in this Class. I’m coming back to my first love and enjoy myself all while having a part in a good cause” explains the sailor from Locmiquélic, who 27 years after his first participation is coming back with a big smile. “In 1993, after winning the prologue in Madeira, I sadly dismasted off the Canaries. Regularly, my brain replays the scene of the spar falling down, which put a halt to my dream” recalls Pierre.

When he got back to the mainland, he originally thought that he’d quickly get back on his feet to achieve his goal, but life had other plans for him. As of today, much of the story has yet to be written. After years dedicated to his family life, the sailor is back at the helm of a Mini. He bought a Pogo 2 from Capucine Trochet, a boat christened The Taste of Life, which is the name of an association where businesses commit to financing solidarity-driven associations as well as the Mini project. “By joining us on this adventure, the partners are helping other associations that share their values of benevolence, sharing, fight for equality and against discriminations” says Pierre. He is determined to prove that in life, things aren’t just possible, they are also achievable with unifying energy.

I want to prove to all those fatalists, to those that have lost their taste of action and sense of commitment, but also to those that are waiting and who are depending – whether they know it or not – on a system, that anything is possible with your own means if you truly believe in it” he declares. His biggest upcoming challenges? Finding the right balance between his physical abilities and those of his boat to be able to fight as best as he can with what is at his disposal.

Palmares

Le Goût de la Vie

His boat

  • Boat Number: 485
  • Boat Race Name: Le Goût de la Vie
  • Category: Serie
  • Building year: 2004
  • Modèle: Pogo 2
  • Énergie à bord: Panneaux solaires et hydro générateur

Label Bleue

  • Ecole Publique JM Georgeault, 56570 Locmiquelic
  • Collège saint Dominique, 97160 Le moule

His project

Follow

News

See all news

Pierre MEILHAT
Pierre MEILHAT

Pierre MEILHAT

  • 485 Série
  • Le Goût de la Vie
  • drapeau FRA M • 18/11/1954 • 66 ans
  • Lorient
  • drapeau FRA M18/11/195466 ans
  • Lorient

Portrait

A 66 ans, Pierre Meilhat est l’un des doyens de cette 23e édition de la Mini Transat.

« Je suis conscient qu’à mon âge, je ne ferai pas carrière dans la classe. Je reviens à mes premières amours et je me fais plaisir tout en participant à une bonne cause », explique le marin de Locmiquélic qui, 27 ans après sa première participation à l’épreuve, y revient l’âme souriante. « En 1993, après avoir remporté le prologue à Madère, j’ai malheureusement démâté au large des Canaries. Régulièrement, ma mémoire m’impose le film de cet espar qui tombe et brise la consécration d’un rêve », relate Pierre.

A son retour à terre, il pensait repartir rapidement pour aller au bout de son projet or les choses de la vie en ont décidé autrement. Aujourd’hui, le temps a passé mais l’histoire reste à écrire. Aussi, après des années de suspension pour raisons familiales, le navigateur reprend la barre d’un Mini. Un Pogo 2 racheté à Capucine Trochet nommé le Goût de la vie, une association où des entreprises s’engagent à répartir leur financement entre associations solidaires et projet Mini. « En participant à notre aventure, ces partenaires aident d’autres associations qui partagent des valeurs de bienveillance, de partage, de lutte pour l’égalité et contre les discriminations », souligne Pierre, bien décidé à prouver que dans la vie, le possible est toujours présent et réalisable grâce à l’énergie fédératrice.

« Je veux démontrer à tous les fatalistes, à ceux qui ont perdu le goût de l’action et de l’engagement, et aussi à ceux qui attendent et dépendent consciemment ou non d’un système, que tout est possible par soi-même quand on y croit vraiment », poursuit le Morbihannais. Ses principaux challenges à venir ? Trouver la bonne équation entre ses capacités physiques et celles de son bateau puis lutter au mieux avec les armes qui sont les siennes.

Palmarès

Le Goût de la Vie

Son Bateau

  • Numéro du bateau : 485
  • Nom de course du bateau : Le Goût de la Vie
  • Catégorie : Série
  • Année de construction: 2004
  • Modèle : Pogo 2
  • Énergie à bord : Panneaux solaires et hydro générateur

Label Bleue

  • Ecole Publique JM Georgeault, 56570 Locmiquelic
  • Collège saint Dominique, 97160 Le moule

Son projet

Suivre

News

Consulter toute l'actualité