Matteo SERICANO
Matteo SERICANO

Matteo SERICANO

  • 1011 Proto
  • Gigali
  • drapeau ITA M • 16/07/1997 • 24 years old
  • Yacht Club Italiano
  • drapeau ITA M16/07/199724 years old
  • Yacht Club Italiano

Portrait

Whilst working in a boatyard specialising in the restoration and construction of wooden boats in the port of Genoa, Matteo Sericano made the acquaintance of Alberto Bona. This encounter would be decisive. Indeed, not only did it give him a ticket to discover the Mini 6.50 universe, it also led to him becoming shore crew to the Italian sailor, first in the Mini and then in Class40, through until the famous  Transat Jacques Vabre in 2017.

From that moment on, the desire to launch my own project became very pressing. That’s how the process of preparing for the Mini Transat 2019 kicked off”, explains the skipper of Gigali, for whom the experience would sadly leave a feeling of incompleteness. Indeed, having finished 7th in the first leg, the Ligurian’s boat was involved in a violent collision with a UFO, which seriously damaged his boat and forced him to retire from the race. “It wasn’t a failure as such, because I learned a great deal, but I promised myself that I’d have another go and succeed in reaching the other side”.

And here he is, back for more on his prototype 888 Eight Cube, having opted for a more modern Ubaldo design this time around. I’m pleased to get a second opportunity to fulfil my dream. My ambition this year is to sail the race to the best of my ability and that of the boat, whilst continuing to learn about the sea, coloured by a spirit of adventure, respect and competitiveness”, explains Matteo, who believes the Mini Transat lends impetus to development. “I’ve always been fascinated by the horizon, by the sea and especially by the boats sailing on it, so I’ve chosen this path in the hope that one day I’ll become a great sailor.”

Palmares

His boat

  • Boat Number: 1011
  • Boat Race Name: Gigali
  • Category: Proto
  • Building year: 2019
  • Architecte: Oris D'ubaldo
  • Énergie à bord: Panneaux solaires

Label Bleue

His project

Follow

News

See all news

Matteo SERICANO
Matteo SERICANO

Matteo SERICANO

  • 1011 Proto
  • Gigali
  • drapeau ITA M • 16/07/1997 • 24 ans
  • Yacht Club Italiano
  • drapeau ITA M16/07/199724 ans
  • Yacht Club Italiano

Portrait

Alors qu’il travaille dans un chantier spécialisé dans la restauration et la construction de bateaux en bois sur le port de Gênes, Matteo Sericano fait la connaissance d’Alberto Bona. Cette rencontre sera décisive. Et pour cause, non seulement il découvre l’univers des Mini 6.50, mais en plus il devient préparateur du navigateur italien, en Mini d’abord, puis en Class40 ensuite, jusqu’à la fameuse Transat Jacques Vabre, en 2017.

« A partir de là, l’envie de lancer mon propre projet est devenue très forte. C’est ainsi qu’a commencé le processus de ma préparation de la Mini Transat 2019 », relate le skipper de Gigali, pour qui l’expérience laissera toutefois un goût d’inachevé. En effet, après avoir terminé 7e de la première étape, le Ligure est victime d’un violent choc avec un OFNI qui endommage gravement son bateau et le contraint à l’abandon. « Ça n’a pas vraiment été un échec car j’ai beaucoup appris, mais je me suis alors promis que je réessayerai et que je réussirai ».

Le voilà donc de retour, son proto 888 Eight Cube ayant cependant laissé la place à un plan d’Ubaldo, plus récent. « Je suis heureux d’avoir une seconde occasion d’accomplir mon rêve. Mes ambitions, cette année, sont de faire la course au maximum de mes capacités et de celles du bateau, tout en continuant à apprendre de la mer dans un esprit d’aventure, de respect et de compétition », précise Matteo qui voit la Mini Transat comme un tremplin. « J’ai toujours été fasciné par l’horizon, par la mer et plus encore par les bateaux qui naviguent dessus, alors j’ai pris cette voie, avec l’ambition de devenir un jour un grand marin. »

Palmarès

Son Bateau

  • Numéro du bateau : 1011
  • Nom de course du bateau : Gigali
  • Catégorie : Proto
  • Année de construction: 2019
  • Architecte : Oris D'ubaldo
  • Énergie à bord : Panneaux solaires

Label Bleue

Son projet

Suivre

News

Consulter toute l'actualité