Georges KICK
Georges KICK

Georges KICK

  • 529 Serie
  • Black Mamba
  • drapeau FRA M • 27/10/1954 • 66 years old
  • drapeau FRA M27/10/195466 years old

Portrait

Two years ago, during his Mini Transat debut, Georges Kick was the oldest competitor in the event. This year, he takes that title again, though he’s only about twenty days older than fellow competitor Pierre Meilhat. From Tarn-et-Garonne in south-west France, he doesn’t really care much for it.

Above all, he’s happy to have the opportunity to treat himself to a second solo voyage across the Atlantic to celebrate his recent retirement. The first, in 2019, was fantastic. The Mini Transat is a hard drug and I’m hooked on it!” assures the former anaesthetist, who notably recalls the squalls in the trade wind, which were violent at times, and so often dreaded by him, as well as and above all the moment he finished the race in Le Marin, celebrated in such magical fashion by all his fellow competitors.

The first time around, I went into battle full of innocent enthusiasm. This time, I’m setting sail with more experience under my belt. I’ll inevitably sail and perceive things a little differently”, admits the skipper of Black Mamba, who has a solid background in Formula 28 and J80 racing. “I’m setting off with the same boat (a Pogo 2). She’s a reliable machine, who knows the way”, assures Georges, whose goal this year is not to finish last. If I manage to leave at least one behind me, I’ll be happy!”

Palmares

Black Mamba

His boat

  • Boat Number: 529
  • Boat Race Name: Black Mamba
  • Category: Serie
  • Building year: 2004
  • Modèle: Pogo 2
  • Énergie à bord: Panneaux solaires et pile à combustible

Label Bleue

  • École Gaston Ramon, 85540 Moutiers Les Mauxfaits

His project

Follow

News

See all news

Georges KICK
Georges KICK

Georges KICK

  • 529 Série
  • Black Mamba
  • drapeau FRA M • 27/10/1954 • 66 ans
  • drapeau FRA M27/10/195466 ans

Portrait

Il y a deux ans, lors de sa première participation la Mini Transat, Georges Kick était le doyen de l’épreuve. Cette année, même topo, même s’il ne précède Pierre Meilhat que d’une vingtaine de jours. Reste que cela, le Tarn-et-Garonnais s’en moque un peu.

Il est avant tout heureux de s’offrir un deuxième voyage en solitaire à travers l’Atlantique pour fêter sa récente retraite. « Le premier, en 2019, avait été fantastique. La Mini Transat est une drogue dure et j’y ai pris goût ! », assure l’ancien médecin anesthésiste qui garde notamment en mémoire les grains dans les alizés, parfois violents, qu’il a si souvent redouté, mais aussi et surtout son arrivée au Marin, célébrée magiquement par l’ensemble de ses concurrents.

« La première fois, j’étais vraiment parti la fleur au fusil. Cette fois, je pars avec plus d’expérience. Je vais forcément naviguer et appréhender les choses un peu différemment », souligne le skipper de Black Mamba, qui a, par le passé, beaucoup régaté en Formule 28 puis en J80. « Je repars avec le même bateau (un Pogo 2, ndlr). C’est une machine fiable, qui connait la route », assure Georges dont l’objectif, cette année, est de ne pas finir dernier. « Si j’arrive à en laisser au moins un derrière moi, je serais content ! »

Palmarès

Black Mamba

Son Bateau

  • Numéro du bateau : 529
  • Nom de course du bateau : Black Mamba
  • Catégorie : Série
  • Année de construction: 2004
  • Modèle : Pogo 2
  • Énergie à bord : Panneaux solaires et pile à combustible

Label Bleue

  • École Gaston Ramon, 85540 Moutiers Les Mauxfaits

Son projet

Suivre

News

Consulter toute l'actualité