Christian KARGL
Christian KARGL

Christian KARGL

  • 980 Serie
  • All Hands On Deck
  • drapeau AUT M • 08/04/1977 • 44 years old
  • Autriche
  • drapeau AUT M08/04/197744 years old
  • Autriche

Portrait

Having made his race debut back in 2005, Christian Kargl is making his Mini Transat comeback this year. “As it’s my second time, I no longer need to prove myself. I can set sail on the adventure much more confidently. As such, I want to really make the most of my crossing and the magical atmosphere that colours Class Mini, explains the Austrian sailor. For the record, he amassed a series of glitches and had a big scare sixteen years ago due to a prototype that was not in tip-top condition.

My forestay had broken twice, but the worst thing occurred 35 miles off the Brazilian coast. Keen to help out a fellow competitor, Hugo Ramon, who was in need of food, I was making towards his position when my harness broke just after sunset. I fell overboard with no lifejacket and no light. I knew my chances of survival were virtually zero, but fortunately Hugo diverted his course and came and saved me… I have two birthdays now!”explains the skipper of the Maxi 6.50 All Hands on Deck, who’d really like a Top 10 spot in the overall ranking this time.

He certainly has plenty of talent, because in addition to his meteorology studies, the Founder and CEO of 2SAIL has racked up significant experience on multiple craft. His key achievements include: a Volvo Ocean Race 2008-2009 with Team Russia, a credit in the Guinness Book of Records for the longest distance covered singlehanded in a sports dinghy in 2016, and a champion title in the Mixed Offshore European Championship (L30) sailed double-handed with Lisa Berger in 2019.

Palmares

2020

  • Les Sables - Les Açores en baie de Morlaix - 13th
  • Gran Premio d'Italia - 3rd

2019

  • Mini Fastnet - 7th
  • Trofeu Marina Badalona - 1st

2015

  • Transat 6,50 Charente Maritime Bahia - 13th
All Hands On Deck

His boat

  • Boat Number: 980
  • Boat Race Name: All Hands On Deck
  • Category: Serie
  • Building year: 2018
  • Modèle: Maxi 650
  • Énergie à bord: Panneaux solaires

Label Bleue

His project

Follow

News

See all news

Christian KARGL
Christian KARGL

Christian KARGL

  • 980 Série
  • All Hands On Deck
  • drapeau AUT M • 08/04/1977 • 44 ans
  • Autriche
  • drapeau AUT M08/04/197744 ans
  • Autriche

Portrait

Après une première participation à la course en 2005, Christian Kargl signe son retour sur la Mini Transat cette année. « Comme c’est ma deuxième, je n’ai plus à me prouver quoi que ce soit. Je peux me lancer dans l’aventure beaucoup plus sereinement. Je veux ainsi profiter pleinement de ma traversée et de l’ambiance si magique de la classe Mini », explique le navigateur Autrichien qui, pour mémoire, avait cumulé les pépins et s’était fait une grosse frayeur il y a seize ans, la faute à un prototype loin d’être en parfait état.

« Mon étai s’est cassé deux fois, mais le pire s’était produit à 35 milles des côtes brésiliennes. Alors que j’étais en route pour venir en aide à Hugo Ramon qui manquait de nourriture, mon harnais s’est cassé juste après le coucher du soleil. Je suis tombé à la mer, sans gilet de sauvetage et sans lumière. Je savais que les chances de survie étaient proches de zéro. Heureusement, Hugo s’est dérouté et m’a sauvé… J’ai maintenant deux anniversaires ! », commente le skipper du Maxi 6.50 All Hands on Deck qui aimerait bien réussir à rentrer dans le Top 10 du classement général cette fois.

Ses atouts sont nombreux, car au-delà de ses études en météorologie, le Fondateur et PDG de 2SAIL affiche une grosse expérience sur de multiples supports. A son actif notamment : une Volvo Ocean Race 2008-2009 avec Team Russia, un record au Livre Guinnessde la plus longue distance parcourue en dériveur solitaire en 2016, ou encore un titre de champion d’Europe de double mixte en course au large (L30) avec Lisa Berger en 2019.

Palmarès

2020

  • Les Sables - Les Açores en baie de Morlaix - 13ème
  • Gran Premio d'Italia - 3ème

2019

  • Mini Fastnet - 7ème
  • Trofeu Marina Badalona - 1er

2015

  • Transat 6,50 Charente Maritime Bahia - 13ème
All Hands On Deck

Son Bateau

  • Numéro du bateau : 980
  • Nom de course du bateau : All Hands On Deck
  • Catégorie : Série
  • Année de construction: 2018
  • Modèle : Maxi 650
  • Énergie à bord : Panneaux solaires

Label Bleue

Son projet

Suivre

News

Consulter toute l'actualité