Basile BOURGNON
Basile BOURGNON

Basile BOURGNON

  • 975 Serie
  • Eden red
  • drapeau FRA M • 03/05/2002 • 19 years old
  • drapeau FRA M03/05/200219 years old

Portrait

At 19 years of age, Basile Bourgnon may well be the youngest competitor in this Mini Transat – EuroChef 2021, but his maturity and his experience are rather impressive to say the least. I’ve grown up amongst boats. I sailed around the world on a catamaran for seven years with my family, which enabled me to discover the open ocean”, explains the young man from the Morbihan in south-west Brittany. The son of the famous sailor Laurent Bourgnon, double champion of the legendary Route du Rhum in 1994 and 1998, Basile has a very good grasp of all the responsibilities incumbent on a skipper and it’s certainly fair to say that he has plenty of pluck.

In 2018, aged just 15 at the time, he put together a Diam 24 campaign in the Tour de France à la Voile. “Completing every phase, managing the budget, communication and technical preparation… having already managed all that once before has saved me a massive amount of time with my Mini 6.50 campaign, but above all I’m fortunate to be surrounded by people I trust, like Emmanuel Le Roch, with whom I was lucky enough to compete in my first transatlantic passage within the scope of the Transat Jacques Vabre 2017, as well as Bertrand Dumazy, CEO of the Edenred group, who has encouraged me to make a beeline for the Mini to learn about solo offshore sailing”, explains the skipper, French Open 5.70 champion in 2016 and 2017, who reasonably had hopes of launching a competitive campaign.

I’m joining the fray to perform well, but without putting too much pressure on my shoulders. I think I’m in with a chance of finishing in the Top 5, but to do that I’ll have to avoid amassing too much technical damage, the likes of which I’ve often suffered during the pre-season races”, says Basile, second in the Mini en Mai this year. “For me, this event will be more than a technical learning experience. I hope it will also be a great springboard for my future ambitions on the Figaro Bénéteau circuit.”

Palmares

Eden red

His boat

  • Boat Number: 975
  • Boat Race Name: Eden red
  • Category: Serie
  • Building year: 2018
  • Modèle: Maxi
  • Énergie à bord: Panneaux solaires

Label Bleue

  • École Henry Dunant, 77230 Dammartin en Goele

His project

Follow

News

See all news

Basile BOURGNON
Basile BOURGNON

Basile BOURGNON

  • 975 Série
  • Eden red
  • drapeau FRA M • 03/05/2002 • 19 ans
  • drapeau FRA M03/05/200219 ans

Portrait

A 19 ans, Basile Bourgnon est peut-être le benjamin de cette Mini Transat – EuroChef 2021, mais sa maturité et son expérience ont de quoi bluffer. « J’ai toujours grandi auprès des bateaux. J’ai vécu sept ans autour du monde sur un catamaran avec ma famille, ce qui m’a permis de découvrir le large », explique le Morbihannais. Fils du célèbre navigateur Laurent Bourgnon, double vainqueur de la mythique Route du Rhum en 1994 et 1998, Basile connait dans le détail toutes les responsabilités qui incombent à un chef de projet, et une chose est sûre : il n’a pas froid aux yeux.

En 2018, alors âgé de seulement 15 ans, il monte un projet Diam 24 sur le Tour de France à la Voile. « Exécution de chaque phase, gestion du budget, communication, préparation technique… le fait d’avoir déjà géré tout ça une première fois par le passé m’a permis de gagner énormément de temps dans mon projet Mini 6.50, mais j’ai surtout la chance d’avoir autour de moi des personnes qui me font confiance comme Emmanuel Le Roch, avec qui j’ai eu la chance de disputer ma première transat dans le cadre de la Jacques Vabre 2017, mais aussi Bertrand Dumazy, Président-directeur général du groupe Edenred qui m’a encouragé à foncer sur la Mini pour apprendre le solitaire et le large », détaille le skipper, champion de France d’Open 5.70 en 2016 puis en 2017, qui souhaitait légitimement lancer un projet compétitif.

« Je viens pour performer, sans toutefois trop me mettre la pression. Je pense pouvoir prétendre à terminer dans le Top 5 mais pour cela, il faudra que je ne cumule pas trop de dégâts techniques, comme cela a souvent été le cas lors des courses d’avant-saison », relate Basile, deuxième de la Mini en Mai cette année. « Cette épreuve sera pour moi un apprentissage personnel plus que technique. Elle sera aussi, je l’espère, un joli tremplin à mes ambitions futures sur le circuit des Figaro Bénéteau. »

Palmarès

Eden red

Son Bateau

  • Numéro du bateau : 975
  • Nom de course du bateau : Eden red
  • Catégorie : Série
  • Année de construction: 2018
  • Modèle : Maxi
  • Énergie à bord : Panneaux solaires

Label Bleue

  • École Henry Dunant, 77230 Dammartin en Goele

Son projet

Suivre

News

Consulter toute l'actualité